Skip to main content

Ken Follett Papers: Research Guide

Materials related to the author Ken Follett. Guide author: Thomas Zantow

Quick Links

Official Ken Follett Web Site

  • (http://www.ken-follett.com)

Wikipedia entry

  • (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ken_Follett)

Other Web sites

  • www.fantasticfiction.co.uk
    • breakdown by series, good bibliography, etc.
  • www.bookreporter.com
    • nice bio, includes lengthy interview
  • www.bookbrowse.com 
    • nice bio, includes reference to SVSU Archives Follett Collection
  • Contact Thomas Zantow
    • tzantow@svsu.edu
    • (989) 964-4238

Using Zahnow Library Archives

Using The Library Archives

Arrangements should be made in advance to insure availability of materials.

Materials are used in the library under supervision of Archives staff

The collection is split between published works and unpublished materials in the closed access Archives.

Archives material requests must be made for specific items or box/folders.

Two virtual "process" exhibits provide a flavor of two types of materials:

  • The Research Process Exhibit reflects Mr. Follett's meticulous research process.
    • These include hired researchers and detailed questions so that his works are plausible even for experts familiar with the period
    • Of particular interest is the process of researching names of characters to avoid potential legal actions
  • The Creative Process Exhibit illustrates the evolution of a work from basic outline through drafts to final typescript.
    • Experts and readers where the action is set are hired to critically read detailed outlines and drafts to maintain factual integrity.
    • Of paticular interest are the character and plot suggestions offered by Albert Zuckerman that have Mr. Follett's terse notations

To assist in finding items by name or by title of work a rudimentary Follett Collection Index has been created to aid your research.

The Catalog of Follett Archives provides a folder-by-folder breakdown of available material

Research Guide To The Follett Archives

Books, etc. About Ken Follett in Zahnow Library

 
  • Ken Follett : the transformation of a writer / Carlos Ramet -- Bowling Green, OH : Bowling Green State University Popular Press, 1999.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 Z76 1999
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only)
  • Ken Follett : a critical companion / Richard C. Turner -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 Z78 1996
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only)

 

  • British mystery and thriller writers since 1940, first series / edited by Bernard Benstock and Thomas F. Staley -- Detroit : Gale Research, c1989.
 
  • Ken Follett dedication Fall 2004 -- SVSU, 2004
 
 
  • Ken Follett lecture -- SVSU, 2004

Works By Ken Follett

  • Amok : king of legend / Bernard L. Ross (aka Ken Follett) -- London : Futura Publications, 1976.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6068.O816 A57 1976
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only)
  • The bear raid / Ken Follett -- Sevenoaks, Kent : Hodder and Stoughton, 1979, c1976.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 B43 1979
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only)
  • The big Black / Symon Myles (aka Ken Follett) -- London : Everest Books, 1974.
  • The big hit / Symon Myles (aka Ken Follett) -- London : Everest Books, 1975.
  • The big needle / Ken Follett -- New York : Kensington Pub. Corp., c1975.
  • Capricorn One / Bernard L. Ross (aka Ken Follett) -- London : Futura, 1978.
  • Code to zero / Ken Follett -- New York : Dutton, c2000.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 C6 2000
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only)
  • A dangerous fortune / Ken Follett -- New York. : Island Books, 1994, c1993.
  • Eye of the needle : a novel / Ken Follett -- New York : Avon Books, 2000, c1978.
  • The gentlemen of 16 July : a work of narrative nonfiction / by René Louis Maurice and Ken Follett -- New York : Arbor House, c1978
    • 1st floor Archives : HV6248.S6139 M38 1978 (in Library use only)
    • Under the streets of Nice / Ken Follett & René L. Maurice -- Bethesda, Md. : National Press, c1990.
      • "Rev. ed. of: The gentlemen of 16 July / René Louis Maurice and Ken Follett."
      • 1st floor Archives : HV6248 .S63 1990 (in Library use only)
  • The hammer of Eden / Ken Follett -- New York : Macmillan, c1998.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 H3 1998b
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 H3 1998 (large print edition)
    • Additional Copy in Archives (Crown edition, in Library use only)
  • Hornet flight / Ken Follett -- New York : Dutton, 2002.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 H67 2002
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only) 
    • Vuelo final / Ken Follett -- Barcelona : Grijalbo : Distributed by Random House Español, 2003.
      • Spanish translation of Hornet Flight:
      • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 H67 2003 (in Library use only)
  • Jackdaws / Ken Follett -- New York : Dutton, c2001.
  • The key to Rebecca / Ken Follett -- London : Hamilton, 1980.
    • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 K39 1980 (in Library use only)
    • Additional Copies in Archives (including 1980 Morrow edition, in Library use only)
    • 1st floor Media (VHS) : PN1997 .K9 1985
    • Ken Follett : two complete novels / Ken Follett -- New York : Seafarer, 1994.
      • Contains The Key to Rebecca and The Man from St. Petersburg
      • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 K39 1994 (in Library use only)
  • Lie down with lions / Ken Follett -- New York : New American Library, 1986.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 L54 1986
    • Additional Copies in Archives (also other editions, in Library use only)
  • The man from St. Petersburg / Ken Follett -- New York : New American Library, 1983, c1982.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 M36 1983
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 M36 1982b (Morrow edition)
    • Additional Copies in Archives (also other editions, in Library use only)
    • Ken Follett : two complete novels / Ken Follett -- New York : Seafarer, 1994.
      • Contains The Key to Rebecca and The Man from St. Petersburg
      • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 K39 1994 (in Library use only)
  • The Modigliani scandal / Ken Follett -- New York : Penguin, 1985.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 M63 1985
    • Additional Copies in Archives (also other editions, in Library use only)
  • The mystery hideout / Ken Follett -- New York : Morrow Junior Books, [1990]
    • " Previously published in England as: The secret of Kellerman's studio, 1976."
    • Young adult book
    • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 M86 1990 (in Library use only)
  • Night over water / Ken Follett -- New York, N.Y. : New American Library, 1992, c1991.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 N54 1992
    • Additional Copies in Archives (also other editions, in Library use only)
  • On wings of eagles / Ken Follett -- New York : W. Morrow, 1983.
  • Paper money / Ken Follett -- New York : New American Library, 1987, c1977.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 P37 1987
    • Additional Copies in Archives (including Morrow edition, in Library use only)
  • The pillars of the earth / Ken Follett -- New York, N.Y : Penguin Group, 1999, c1989.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 P55 1999
    • Additional Copies in Archives (including Morrow edition, in Library use only)
  • Pillars of the Almighty / Ken Follett -- New York : W. Morrow, c1994.
    • "Excerpts from the novel, Pillars of the earth, by Ken Follett and photos of cathedrals."
    • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 P552 1994 (in Library use only)
  • A place called freedom / Ken Follett -- New York : Crown Publishers, c1995.
  • The power twins / Ken Follett --New York : Morrow Junior Books, c1990.
    • " Previously published as: The power twins and the worm puzzle. London : Abelard-Schuman, 1976."
    • Young adult book
    • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 P69 1990 (in Library use only)
  •  [The secret of Kellerman's studio]
    • The mystery hideout / Ken Follett -- New York : Morrow Junior Books, [1990]
      • " Previously published in England as: The secret of Kellerman's studio, 1976."
      • Young adult book
      • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 M86 1990 (in Library use only)
  • The shakeout / Ken Follett -- New York, NY : Armchair Detective Library, 1990, c1975.
  • The third twin : a novel / Ken Follett -- New York : Crown Publishers, c1996.
  • Triple : a novel / Ken Follett -- New York : Arbor House, c1979.
  • Two complete novels / Ken Follett -- New York : Seafarer, 1994.
    • Contains The Key to Rebecca and The Man from St. Petersburg
    • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 K39 1994 (in Library use only)
  • Under the streets of Nice / Ken Follett & René L. Maurice -- Bethesda, Md. : National Press, c1990.
    • "Rev. ed. of: The gentlemen of 16 July / René Louis Maurice and Ken Follett."
    • 1st floor Archives : HV6248 .S63 1990 (in Library use only)
  • Vuelo final / Ken Follett -- Barcelona : Grijalbo : Distributed by Random House Español, 2003.
    • Spanish translation of Hornet Flight:
    • 1st floor Archives : PR6056.O45 H67 2003 (in Library use only)
  • Whiteout / Ken Follett -- New York : Dutton, c2004.
  • World without end / Ken Follett -- New York : Dutton, c2007.
    • 3rd floor General Collection : PR6056.O45 W67 2007
    • Additional Copy in Archives (in Library use only)