This is the "Reference Services" page of the "Reference Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Services  

Detailed description of Reference Services
Last Updated: Jun 20, 2013 URL: http://librarysubjectguides.svsu.edu/refservices Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What we do ...

Reference Services offer many forms of research assistance to library users. 

Assistance is available at the Reference Desk, 1st floor library, 80.5 hours per week:

Sunday, 1:00pm-9:00 pm
Monday - Thursday, 8:00am-10:00pm
Friday, 8:00am-4:30 pm
Saturday, 9:00am-5:00 pm

Assistance is available during the fall and winter semesters in the lobby areas of the Regional Education Center and Health and Human Services buildings.

Monday & Tuesday, 4:00-7:00 pm

NOTE: hours change for university closings and summer sessions

Reference desk, 1st floor
Phone: (989) 964-4242; toll-free (866)381-7373
Chat tab on this page or the "Chat" icon on the library's homepage

Use the tab above to schedule an individual or group meeting at the library or anywhere on campus.

 

Reference Collection

What is a "Reference Collection" and why should you use it?

The library's Reference Collection contains material both online and in print.  Sources in the Reference Collection provide you with specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries that focus on terminology from many distinct subject areas. Experts in the field are often asked to write the entries. These specialized sources can help you define word or concept meanings.  They are most useful for research papers and reports or just for better understanding of terminology used in course lectures.  Many sources also provide specialized data, maps and illustrations.

Examples of print and online sources found in the Reference Collection include:

ART - Grove Art Online

BIOLOGY - Henderson's Dictionary of Biology (print)

CHEMISTRY - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics : a standard reference work of chemical and physical data (print)

CRIMINAL JUSTICE - American Dictionary of Criminal Justice : key terms and major court cases (print)

LAW - Black's Law Dictionary (online and print)

MEDICINE - Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary (print); Taber's Cyclopedia of Medicine (print and online)

POLITICAL SCIENCE - Politics and International Relations Online

PSYCHOLOGY - 21st century psychology : a reference handbook (print)

 

* Reference sources can be accessed using the "Find books, journal articles, dvds and more" search box on the library homepage.

 

Reference Staff

From left to right: Kathleen Kroll, Scott Mellendorf,  Anita Dey, Beth Johns, Catherine Curtis, John Mauch

 

Reference staff directory

Anita Dey, Head, Reference Services, Z 108, adey@svsu.edu, x. 7094

Beth Johns, Reference & Electronic Resources Librarian, Z 106, bmjohns@svsu.edu, x2158

Catherine Curtis, Reference Librarian, Z 105, ccurtis@svsu.edu, x. 2152

Kathleen Kroll, Reference & Library Instruction Librarian, Z 104, kmkroll@svsu.edu, x7054

John Mauch, Reference Librarian, jmauch@svsu.edu, Z 102, x. 7071

Scott Mellendorf, Reference & Off Campus Services Librarian, Z 103, mel@svsu.edu, x. 7052


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip