User Services

 The Circulation Desk is located at the 1st floor entrance to the Library.  It is staffed during all operational hours of the Library, serving as the check out and return point for Library materials, including: 

• Books
• Video recordings and music CDs
• Class reserves
• Interlibrary Loan and MeLCat books
• Notebook computers for students

In addition, the Circulation Desk is the contact point to access Archives materials and other restricted access collections.  See our Collections Page for additional information.

 Checking out materials

• All patrons are required to have a valid Library card to check out materials.  In the case of faculty, staff and students this is typically the SVSU ID card.  For visitors and alumni the Circulation Desk will issue a library card.  A valid photo ID (typically a driver's license) is required to get a library card.

 Holds

• Patrons may place items from the general collection on hold if the item is checked out by another patron. To place the hold you must have a valid library card.
• In Person
  • Patrons may request that a hold be placed on an item at the Circulation desk. The patron will need to provide the Circulation desk with the title of the book or call number. You will also need to provide your library card.
• Online
  • Patrons may also place a hold on books through our online catalogs. After searching for an item in the card catalog just click on "Place Hold" or "Request". Students, faculty and staff enter their SVSU username and password while visitors and alumni must use their name and barcode number (located on the back of your library card). Holds are placed on items in the order received.
• Processing
  • When a hold request is processed, the Circulation staff will notify the first patron on the hold list by e-mail. Items will be held at the Circulation Desk for 7 days. After 7 days the item will be given to the next patron who has placed a hold or returned to the collection.

Faculty Media Reservations

• Faculty can place holds on media items during the semester. A media hold is different than placing an item on reserve. Items that have a hold are set aside for classroom use on a specified date. When a hold is placed on a media item, the library continues to circulate it. The week before the requested date the item is pulled from the shelf and can be checked out only by the requesting faculty member. The earlier a hold is placed on an item the more certain it will be available for classroom use. It is suggested that hold requests be submitted at the time your class syllabus is prepared for best access.
  • In order to complete a media hold request, please stop at the Circulation desk when you are in the library or send an e-mail to svsu_library@svsu.edu. Circulation staff will need the title of the media item, the call number if you have it, date(s) that you want the item available, and your on-campus phone number. If there is a problem with the hold request a Circulation Assistant will contact you.

Maximum Checkouts

• The library limits the total number of items that can be checked out by patrons. The maximum number of items students, faculty and staff may check out is 70, while visitors and alumni may have 50.

Book Returns

• Books can be returned to the library in one of the three-drop boxes or at the Circulation desk. Drop boxes are open at anytime and are located as follows:
  • Outside the entrance to Science East from Parking Lot D
  • Outside the second floor entrance to Zahnow Library
  • All other media should be returned to the Circulation desk during library hours

Renewals

• Books from the general collection may be renewed for an additional period (faculty/staff) or an additional two periods (students, visitors and alumni). A book will not be renewed if another patron has requested the item.
• Online
  • All patrons may click here to renew your book. Books that are overdue cannot be renewed through the website. You will be notified if the book cannot be renewed.
• In Person
  • All patrons may renew books by bringing them to the Circulation desk.
• Phone
  • All patrons may renew by phone one time. To renew, call the Circulation Desk at (989) 964-4240. You will need to provide the barcode number from the book(s) being renewed to the Circulation staff. Books that are overdue cannot be renewed by phone.

Overdue Fines

• Fines are assessed on all overdue materials. The type of material that is overdue determines the amount of the fine as well as if an overdue notice is sent to the patron. If items are not returned in a timely fashion, the patron will be billed for the item as indicated in the Billed Materials section below.
• General Collection Books
  • first notice sent when 5 days overdue
• Popular Reading Collection Books
  • first notice sent when 5 days overdue
• Reference books $1.00 per day
• Reserve Items
  • first notice sent when 1 day overdue 
  • 50¢ for the first hour and 20¢ for each additional hour overdue per item
• CDs, and DVDs
  • first notice sent when 5 days overdue

Billed Materials

• Overdue materials that are not returned will be considered lost and the patron billed for replacements.
• General Collection Books
  • Bill sent after overdue 14 days
  • Billed for cost of book plus processing and billing fees
  • Information forwarded to the Controller's office for collection proceedings at the start of the following month
• Popular Reading Collection Books
  • Bill sent after overdue 14 days
  • Billed for cost of book plus processing and billing fees
  • Information forwarded to the Controller's office for collection proceedings at the start of the following month
• Reserve Items
  • Bill sent after overdue 3 days
  • Billed for cost of item plus processing and billing fees
  • Information forwarded to the Controller's office for collection proceedings at the start of the following month
• All Other Media
  • Bill sent after overdue 14 days
  • Billed for cost of item plus processing and billing fees
  • Information forwarded to the Controller's office for collection proceedings at the start of the following month
• Interlibrary Loan and MeLCat materials
  • Bill sent after overdue 14 days
  • Replacement cost and processing fees are set by the lending library
  • An additional $20 processing fee will be assessed in addition to the lending library charges