Renewals
Whenever possible, SVSU library items will automatically be renewed one time after they are first checked out. The renewal will be for the same length of time as the original checkout.
- Items that cannot be automatically renewed are:
- Items that have a hold request placed
- Items checked out through MeL or ILL
If you need an SVSU or MeL item longer that cannot be renewed, you can renew it manually.
- Online
- All patrons may click here to renew your item. Items that are overdue cannot be renewed online. If the item is checked out to you through ILL you may click here to renew your item. You will be notified if the item cannot be renewed.
- In Person
- All patrons may renew items by bringing them to the Circulation Desk.
- Phone
- All patrons may renew by phone one time. To renew, call the Circulation Desk at (989) 964-4240. You will need to provide the barcode number from the item(s) being renewed to Circulation staff. Items that are overdue cannot be renewed by phone.
Overdue Fines
- Fines are assessed on all overdue materials. The type of material that is overdue determines the amount of the fine as well as if an overdue notice is sent to the patron. If items are not returned in a timely fashion, the patron will be billed for the item as indicated in the Billed Materials section below.
- General Collection and Children's Literature Books
- first notice sent when 3 days overdue
- Popular Reading Collection Books
- first notice sent when 3 days overdue
- Reference books $1.00 per day
- Reserve Items
- first notice sent when 1 day overdue
- 50¢ for the first hour and 20¢ for each additional hour overdue per item
- CDs, and DVDs
- first notice sent when 5 days overdue
- Books from other libraries (MeLCat, Interlibrary Loan)
- 50¢ per day per overdue item
Billed Materials
- Overdue materials that are not returned will be considered lost and the patron billed for replacements.
- General Collection Books
- Bill sent after overdue 14 days; forwarded to the Controller's Office for collection proceedings on the 15th of the following month
- Billed for cost of book plus processing and billing fees
- Popular Reading Collection Books
- Bill sent after overdue 14 days; forwarded to the Controller's Office for collection proceedings on the 15th of the following month
- Billed for cost of book plus processing and billing fees
- Reserve Items
- Bills sent after overdue 3 days; forwarded to the Controller's Office for collection proceedings on the 15th of the following month
- Billed for cost of item plus processing and billing fees
- All Media
- Bill sent after overdue 14 days; forwarded to the Controller's Office for collection proceedings on the 15th of the following month
- Billed for cost of item plus processing and billing fees
- Interlibrary Loan and MeLCat materials
- Bills sent after overdue 14 days; forwarded to the Controller's Office for collection proceedings on the 15th of the following month
- Replacement cost and processing fees are set by the lending library
