Library Services Overview
Library Services & Resources
Circulation Services manages the primary public service desk during all hours of library operation. Services include checking out library materials to our patrons, managing the hold shelf for reserve, interlibrary loan, MeLCat and hold books, maintaining the shelving of library materials, collecting fees for library fines and SVSU print balance accounts, and managing reserve collections. A part of Access Services, the contact information for Circulation is 989.964.4240 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Interlibrary Loan Services manages lending and borrowing materials with other libraries on behalf of our patrons, using the ILLiad system for traditional ILL and the MeLCat system for the parallel Michigan resource sharing system. A part of Access Services, the contact information for ILL is 989.964.4240 or email@example.com
Library Instruction services work with individual course classes to enhance research ability using Library resources including in-Library print sources as well as online research databases. The research process and critical evaluation skills are emphasized in these sessions, which are offered at a choice of levels depending on the needs of the class. A part of Reference Services, the contact information for Library Instruction is 989.964.7054 or firstname.lastname@example.org
In response to the growing population of students who take courses at remote campuses or online, Off-Campus Services offers a range of instructional support for faculty and students. In addition to providing on-site instruction, customized services from Interlibrary Loan (document delivery) and other Library departments are coordinated through the Off- Campus suppport librarian. A part of Reference Services, the contact information for Off- Campus Services is 989.964.7052 or email@example.com
A courtesy service provided by our Archives Department, Records Management facilitates the storage of University public records for the required duration then coordinates disposal of those records as desired by the owning University office. Materials are stored off-site but may be retrieved as needed. A part of Access Services, the contact information for Records Management is 989.964.4243 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Reference Services offers many forms of research assistance (both services and resources) to library users. Services include 80 hours a week of public desk service, ask-a-librarian email assistance, research consultation by appointment, library instruction sessions, embedded librarian online course support, off campus library services, article linking, and Z-111 lab scheduling. Resources managed by Reference Services include, reference collection development, online subscription database access, web based research guides and interactive tutorials. Contact information for Reference is 989.964.7094 or email@example.com
Course related materials may be made available for student access either in physical format, including books, music CDs, videos, etc., or online for articles (e-reserves). E-reserves are maintained as part of course VSpace accounts by Circulation staff, who digitize and provide support as needed. Copyright coverage for reserve items are the responsibility of the instructor. A part of Access Services, the contact information for Reserves is 989.964.4240 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Materials related to the history of Saginaw Valley State University are collected, cataloged and preserved by the Archives. Along with rare and valuable materials cataloged as part of the Archives Special Collection, these resources are available by appointment only for research needs. A part of Access Services, the contact information for Archives and Special Collections is 989.964.4243 or email@example.com
Used for Library Instruction as well as online testing, the Z-111 Lab also functions as an open lab when not reserved for its core functions. Reservations may be made using an online form or by contacting the Reference Department at 989.964.7094 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Library Research Resources
Zahnow Library collections
- Library collections consist of books to support research, reference resources, and media.
- These collections are accessed through our Classic Catalog Library catalog.
- For descriptive information see the Collections pages.
- The Library has a significant microfiche collection of ERIC Documents.
- For patrons living far from campus, or to find ERIC Documents we do not have, consult our ERIC Document Libraries page
Other libraries' catalogs
- ValCat : an online catalog for Tri-County libraries including Delta College, Northwood College, Bay County Libraries, Midland's Grace A. Dow Library, and the Public Libraries of Saginaw,
- MeLCat : an online catalog of participating Michigan libraries that also permits direct requesting of resources (see Interlibrary Loan for more information)
- Use LibWeb to access individual catalogs from around the world
- Use WorldCat or WorldCat.org to access collections from libraries around the world at once.