A systematic review/meta-analysis summarizes results of available, carefully designed healthcare studies (controlled trials) and provides a high level of evidence on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions. These research articles may also be described as a study of studies. Judgments may be made about the evidence and inform recommendations for healthcare
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Search tips for most databases:
-"use quotes for phrase searching"
-use boolean operator "AND" to narrow search.
place "AND" between different aspects/terms of search
-use boolean operator "OR" to expand search.
place "OR" between similar terms
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Use the Cochrane Library Database to search for a systematic review. When you get to Cochrane, just enter your concept in the search box (i.e. "chronic pain"). Then look to the left of your search results and click the "Reviews" link. This would only give you
a list of Cochrane Reviews. These are studies of studies and is the type of research article you are looking for.If you don't find a Cochrane review for your topic, use the other library databases as listed below.
In the other library nursing databases (CINAHL, Medline, ProQuest, etc) use a more traditional search approach.
example: enter your concept and the type of study you are searching for in the search boxes
"chronic pain" AND meta-analysis or systematic review
A quantitative study emphasizes objective measurements and the statistical or numerical analysis of data collected through polls, questionnaires, and surveys. It can also utilize pre-existing statistical data. Thus quantitative research gathers numerical data and generalizes it across groups of people or is used to explain specific phenomenon.
Quantitative-Qualitative Overview
https://medium.com/digital-experience-design/an-overview-to-qualitative-and-quantitative-research-methods-in-design-de034a92f45c
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Search tips for most databases:
-"use quotes for phrase searching"
-use boolean operator "AND" to narrow search.
place "AND" between different aspects/terms of search
-use boolean operator "OR" to expand search.
place "OR" between similar terms
example: enter your concept and the type of study you are searching for in the search boxes
"chronic pain" AND experimental or quantitative
A qualitative study (usually in the form of a face to face interview) is the
collection of words/images/concepts that reflect a person's life, reaction,
thoughts, etc. It is no data driven, it is usually conducted on site and is
designed to give a researcher more insight to the topic being studied.
Understanding Qualitative Research
https://www.americannursetoday.com/understanding-qualitative-research/
Quantitative-Qualitative Overview
https://medium.com/digital-experience-design/an-overview-to-qualitative-and-quantitative-research-methods-in-design-de034a92f45c
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Search tips for most databases:
-"use quotes for phrase searching"
-use boolean operator "AND" to narrow search.
place "AND" between different aspects/terms of search
-use boolean operator "OR" to expand search.
place "OR" between similar terms
example: enter your concept and the type of study you are searching for in the search boxes
"chronic pain" AND qualitative study
