This is the "Home" page of the "Periodicals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Periodicals  

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2014 URL: http://librarysubjectguides.svsu.edu/periodicals Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Periodicals

Print Periodicals Collection *

The term periodicals includes journals, magazines and newspapers, and collectively are referred to as serials (although some of these terms are interchangeable).

    • Periodicals, as distinct from journals or magazines, may sometimes be cataloged as part of our book collections.
      • At the most basic level these are cataloged at the title level (e.g., The Supreme Court Reporter in  the Reference Collection).  These titles are sometimes called "open entry" titles.
      • Sometimes periodical issues have distinctive titles and subject focus for each issue (e.g., New Directions for Higher Education in our General Collection).  These issues are individually cataloged to provide the most accurate title and subject access, but are shelved together.
      • Finally, some periodicals are so unique that they are cataloged separately and scattered throughout our collection (e.g., Hortus Musicus).  These are often called "series."
    • Journals are scholarly publications.
      • Typically there are minimal advertisements, articles tend to be longer with references/bibliography, and the author of the article is prominently displayed. Magazines tend to be more popular than scholarly.
    • Magazines have more popular content.
      • Advertisements are more prominent, articles tend to be shorter, rarely with references, and sometimes without author attribution.
    • Newspapers focus on immediacy and often have a local focus.

      * Online Journals - The majority of the library's periodicals are available online. See the Find Articles page for more information and instructions for locating these items.

  • The Periodicals Collection is shelved in distinct areas:
    • Current Periodicals, including newspapers, are shelved on the 1st floor of the Library, near the Roethke statue.
    • Bound Periodicals, and back issues of newspapers, are shelved on the 2nd floor of the Library, opposite the Center for Academic Achievement.
    • Microfilm Periodicals are shelved in cabinets near the Bound Periodicals. Microform reading machines are also available in this area.
    • ERIC Documents are shelved in cabinets near the Bound Periodicals. Many of these materials may also be found online - see a Reference Library on the 1st floor for assistance with these materials.
    • Microfilm Books are shelved in cabinets near the Bound Periodicals.
  • Staff at the 1st floor Circulation and Reference Desks are available to assist with finding and making copies of articles and assisting users with the microfilm readers/printers. Use the beige phone near the stairs to connect directly with the Circulation desk while on the 2nd floor.

Contact Information

  • Head, Collection Development & Acquisitions: Jennifer Dean, Zahnow Library 417, 989-964-7092, jldean@svsu.edu
  • Periodicals Assistant: Gloria Turner, Zahnow Library 413, 989-964-4241, gjt@svsu.edu
  • Circulation Desk : 989-964-4240
  • Reference Desk: 989-964-4040

Public Access Equipment

  • Photocopy machines are located in the glassed in room  across from the elevator. Cost per copy is 10 cents per page.
    • Additional photocopiers are located on the 1st floor just south of the elevator.
  • Microfilm reader/printers are located next to the Photocopy Room. Cost per copy is 10 cents per page.

Policies

  • Microfilm books may circulate out of the Library.  All other collections are In Library Use Only.

Collections

  • Current Periodicals and Newspapers - 1st floor
    • Located in the Reference Collection near the Roethke statue, these issues are arranged alphabetically by title.
    • The current issue is displayed, with back issues available in the box behind it.
    • Newspapers are located at the end of the collection. Back issues not available on the 1st floor are shelved on the 2nd floor, near the Bound Periodicals.
  • Bound Periodicals - 2nd floor
    • Located to your left as you leave the stairs and elevator, these issues are on traditional book shelving arranged alphabetically by title.
  • Microfilm Periodicals - 2nd floor
    • Located in cabinets near the Bound Periodicals, arranged alphabetically by title.
  • ERIC Documents - 2nd floor
    • Located in cabinets near the Bound Periodicals, these documents are in microfiche format.
    • They are arranged by ERIC Document serial numbers (ED xxxxx).
    • Use ERIC to find the ED number for a document - see a Reference Library on the 1st floor for assistance with these materials.
  • Microfilm Books - 2nd floor
    • Located in cabinets to the west of the Microfilm Periodicals arranged by call number
    • Use CardCat to find the call numbers for these books
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip