This is the "Home" page of the "Persistent Linking to Library Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Persistent Linking to Library Sources  

This guide gives examples of how to create persistent links to books, catalog records, and articles from the library databases.
Last Updated: Jan 19, 2012 URL: http://librarysubjectguides.svsu.edu/purls Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About persistent linking

This guide provides information needed to create persistent links to library resources.

Note these aspects about creating persistent links:
1). In most cases, browser urls for articles will time out.

2). For persistent links to work from off campus, the url must contain the following (bolded) components.
Zero-database url.library.svsu.edu
http://0-www.jstor.org.library.svsu.edu

Guide Author

Profile Image
Scott Mellendorf
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Saginaw Valley State University
Zahnow Library (Z-103)
989.964.7052-mel@svsu.edu
Social Networks::
 Linkedin   Youtube   Blog
 

Persistent Linking to Library Resources

Updated 1-19-2012 (new info for Gale, JSTOR, OVID, ProQuest, ScienceDirect, Springer)

Library Catalog Link Name  Handout
CardCat-Zahnow Library Catalog Use link above item description CardCat-pdf
Encore-Zahnow Library Discovery Catalog Use link in web browser url address box Encore-pdf

Database/Source Provider Link Name  Handout
CQ Researcher Right click and copy the "View PDF link" CQResearcher-pdf
CQ Weekly Right click source "title link" & copy/paste url CQWeekly-pdf
EBSCO & Wilson Databases
(Cinahl PlusOmniFile Select,  & more)
From record display, click "Permalink" link under tools on the right. copy and paste presented url
EBSCO-pdf
ECO (FirstSearch)
Use "Link Pickup" at article display
FirstSearch-pdf
GalePowerSearch- (use for most Gale Databases such as academic onefile, health reference center)
Click source title link, use "Bookmark this document" found on right under "Tools"
Gale-pdf
JSTOR
Right click the source's PDF Link and copy/paste url
JSTOR-pdf
Ovid Nursing From document view, click "email jumpstart" link  Ovid-pdf
ProQuest (all ProQuest Databases) Click "citation/abstract" link & copy "Document url"
ProQuest-pdf
ScienceDirect Copy and paste the "doi name link" Science Direct-pdf
Springer Copy and paste the pdf link from opened item   SpringerLink-pdf
WilsonWeb Use example for EBSCO databases WilsonWeb databases moved to EBSCO
-
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip