What we do ...
Research & User Services offer many forms of research assistance to library users.
Assistance is available at the Research Center Desk, 1st floor library, 80.5 hours per week:
FALL & Winter Semesters
Sunday, 1:00pm-9:00 pm
Monday - Thursday, 8:00am-10:00pm
Friday, 8:00am-4:30 pm
Saturday, 9:00am-5:00 pm
Spring & Summer Semesters
Sunday, 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Monday - Thursday, 8:00am-8:00pm
Friday, 8:00am-4:30 pm
NOTE: hours change for university closings and summer sessions
Research Center Desk, 1st floor
Phone: (989) 964-4242; toll-free (866)381-7373
Chat tab on this page or the "Chat" icon on the library's homepage
Use the tab above to schedule an individual or group meeting at the library or anywhere on campus.
What is a "Reference Collection" and why should you use it?
The library's Reference Collection contains material both online and in print. Sources in the Reference Collection provide you with specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries that focus on terminology from many distinct subject areas. Experts in the field are often asked to write the entries. These specialized sources can help you define word or concept meanings. They are most useful for research papers and reports or just for better understanding of terminology used in course lectures. Many sources also provide specialized data, maps and illustrations.
Examples of print and online sources found in the Reference Collection include:
ART - Grove Art Online
BIOLOGY - Henderson's Dictionary of Biology (print)
CHEMISTRY - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics : a standard reference work of chemical and physical data (print)
CRIMINAL JUSTICE - American Dictionary of Criminal Justice : key terms and major court cases (print)
LAW - Black's Law Dictionary (online and print)
MEDICINE - Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary (print); Taber's Cyclopedia of Medicine (print and online)
POLITICAL SCIENCE - Politics and International Relations Online
PSYCHOLOGY - 21st century psychology : a reference handbook (print)
* Reference sources can be accessed using the "Find books, journal articles, dvds and more" search box on the library homepage.
Research Services Full Time Staff
From left to right: Kathleen Kroll, Scott Mellendorf, Anita Dey, Beth Johns, Catherine Curtis, John Mauch
Research Services Staff directory
Scott Mellendorf, Head, Research Services, Z 103, email@example.com, x. 7052
Beth Johns, Research & Electronic Resources Librarian, Z 102, firstname.lastname@example.org, x2158
Catherine Curtis, Research Librarian, Z 105, email@example.com, x. 2152
Kathleen Kroll, Research & Library Instruction Librarian, Z 104, firstname.lastname@example.org, x7054
Margaret Phillips, Research & Assessment Librarian, Z 106, email@example.com, x7071
Michelle Strasz, Part Time Temporary Research Librarian, firstname.lastname@example.org x.4242
Karissa Haskin, Student Research Center Assistant x.4242