Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

This guide is intended to assist SVSU students and faculty in locating and using Open Educational Resources.

  

Below are a list of OER collections that have been made available for researchers, instructors, and students to use in their work and studies.

 Textbooks | General/Mixed Media | Journals | Courses | Images | Music and Video | U.S. Government Resources | K-12 Resources

Open Textbook Sources

The collections below are repositories containing open textbooks, and each collection contains its own individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 
 

Affordable Learning Georgia

Affordable learning Georgia (ALG) is an initiative started by the  University System of Georgia, intended to provide students with affordable alternatives to commercial textbooks. 

 

American Institute of Mathematics

The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) has created a list of open textbooks that have been vetted by the institute. All are openly licensed, and topics span across as broad range of mathematics concepts. 

 

BCcampus OpenEd

BCcampus OpenEd is an open initiative first announced by the British Columbia Minister of Advanced Education in 2012. Since then, the project has created a large collection of open textbooks to meet the needs of the region's 40 highest enrolled subject areas. 

 

College Open Textbooks

College Open Textbooks is a program of COT Education, which seeks to promote the creation and adoption of open-licensed textbooks worldwide. Its listings currently contain nearly 800 textbooks in a variety of subjects, an increasing number of which have been peer reviewed. 

 

Knowledge Unlatched

Knowledge Unlatched (KU) is an online platform of free scholarly content from libraries worldwide. Nearly 300 libraries from 24 countries have pledged to make their collections available, and the site currently provides access to many of them. 

 

MIT OpenCourseWare Online Textbooks

As an addition to the open courseware shared by MITOpenCourseware, the university has also published a number of textbooks by their faculty. All are openly licensed. 

 

OAsis

OAsis is an open access repository created by the Commonwealth of Learning, the contents of which are all licensed under a Creative Commons license. 

 

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is an open repository of textbooks created by the University of Minnesota. 

 

OpenOregon Educational Resources OpenOregon is a collection of OER that have been adopted by instructors at Oregon's public colleges and universities. These resources include textbooks, but also include additional course materials. 
OpenStax

OpenStax is a nonprofit organization founded by Rice University. It has published an extensive collection of free, openly licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks available for adoption in a number of general education courses. 

 

OpenStax CNX

In addition to the core OpenStax collection, the OpenStax CNX platform allows for instructors to share their own works and reuse the works of others, many of which are customized versions of the existing texts. 

 

Saylor Academy Open Textbooks

Saylor Academy is a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free and open education to all. As part of an Open Textbook Challenge, the academy has created a number of open textbooks to supplement their open courses. 

 

SUNY Open Textbooks Open SUNY Textbooks is an open textbook initiative began by the State University of New York Libraries, supported by a number of grants. 

 

General / Mixed Media Sources

The collections below are repositories containing resources in a variety of formats, and each collection contains its own individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

 

#GoOpen Michigan #GoOpen Michigan, a state-level branch of the #GoOpen initiative of the U.S. Department of Education, is an open repository of high-quality digital resources that can be used to transform the learning experience. Michigan is currently one of twenty states participating in the nation-wide movement. 
 
AMSER AMSER, or the Applied Math and Science Education Repository,  is a digital repository of resources made available by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the National Science Digital Library. 
Canvas Commons

Canvas Commons is a learning object repository that allows educators to share and use resources created by themselves and others. The resources may, in turn, be imported into Canvas courses. Each item is individually licensed. 


 

Classic Reader

Classic Reader is an online library of books for whom copyright has expired, placing them in the public domain. As the name implies, the works contained within this collection are largely classical works of literature. 

 

Digital Public Library of America

The DPLA is a digital library of millions of resources held in libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Each item is licensed individually, so be sure to pay attention to the specific permissions of use granted to you. 

Eldis

Eldis is an online hub of information and research on global development challenges. It is hosted by the Knowledge, Impact and Policy team at the Institute of Development Studies in the UK. 

 

 

Europeana

Europeana is a digital collection of more than 50 million items held in libraries and museums across Europe. Each item is licensed individually, so be sure to pay attention to the specific permissions of use granted to you. 

 

GALILEO Open Learning Materials GALILEO is a repository containing the OER created by the University System of Georgia, including a collection of open textbooks. Each item is licensed individually. 

 

Google

Google's 'Advanced Search' feature allows results to be limited to openly-licensed resources.**

 

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library is the result of an ongoing collaboration between research institutions and libraries worldwide. It currently contains millions of digitized ebooks available for use, most of whom are in the public domain. 

 

Humanities Commons

Brought to you by the MLA, Humanities Commons is a network for people working in the humanities to discover open access scholarship and teaching materials. It requires the creation for a free account. 

 

LibreTexts

LibreTexts is the result of a multi-insititutional collaborative effort to develop open access resources. At present, their collection includes open textbooks, homework exercises, worksheets, exemplars and case studies, and visualizations/simulations. Unless otherwise stated, content is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0 license. 

 

Luminos

Luminos is a new Open Access (OA) publishing platform created by the University of California Press. All books contained within it are available for viewing and download only. 

 

Merlot

Merlot is a project begun at California State University to develop a repository of open educational resources, as well as evaluation standards and peer review processes for said items. Each item in the repository is licensed individually, so be sure to pay attention to the specific permissions of use granted to you. 

 

Merlot ELIXR Merlot ELIXR is an additional open project from Merlot, in the form of a digital repository of case studies related to instruction strategies and techniques. It hosts more than 70 discipline-specific multimedia case studies, which may be used to provide real-life experiences for planning classroom instruction. 
New York Public Library Digital Collection The New York Public Library has an extensive digital collection of more than 740,000 items that have been digitized from the library's collections. Items primarily include still images, texts, music, and other recordings. Permissions for use vary according to the individual item. 
OER Commons

OER Commons is a digital library of open educational resources, as well as a platform for building new OER.  Each item is licensed individually, so be sure to pay attention to the specific permissions of use granted to you. 

 

OER Metafinder

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) is a search engine to assist users in simultaneously searching more than a dozen OER repositories. 

 

Open Learning Initiative

The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is an ongoing project by Carnegie Mellon University, which offers innovative online courses to anyone who wishes to study them. OLI currently has 35 courses available in a wide variety of subject areas. 

 

The Orange Grove

The Orange Grove is an Open Educational Resource Repository for the state of Florida, containing open courseware, open textbooks, 3D object models, and videos, amongst many other things. Each work contained within is individually licensed. 

 

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg contains a collection of more than 57,000 eBooks that are freely available for use in the United States, as they are in the public domain or they have been openly licensed by their authors. 

 

SOL*R SOL*R (Shareable Online Learning Resources) is a repository of open learning materials supported by BCcampus, intended to help facilitate the discovery, sharing, and reuse of OER. 
U.S. National Archives The United States National Archives acts as the nation's record keeper, keeping important legal or historical documents and materials for preservation. Most of the documents and images contained within the archive, unless otherwise noted, are in the public domain. 
Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a collection of nearly 50 million freely usable media files, which are contributed by individual users. Each item is individually licensed by the author who submits it to the collection. 

 

World Digital Library

The World Digital Library is a project started by the U.S. Library of Congress, in conjunction with UNESCO. It contains primary resources from a wide variety of countries and cultures in a multilingual format, free of charge. Licensing is dicated by the individual contributing partners. 

**Note: Not all results returned are guaranteed to be openly licensed. Pay special attention to check the licenses on each item you intend to use. 

Open Journals

The collections below are repositories containing open journals, and each collection contains its own individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

Directory of Open Access Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a curated directory of more than 11,000 high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals containing more than 3 million articles. The permissions for use vary according to the journal. 

 

Public Library of Science (PLOS)

PLOS is a nonprofit Open Access publisher, which launched in 2003. Today it is home to a number of open journals related to a wide array of scientific topics. 

 

Sage Open Sage Open is a platform of peer-reviewed open access articles provided by Sage Publications. 

 

Open Courses

The collections below are repositories containing open courses, and each collection contains its own individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

JHSPH Open Courseware

The John Hopkins School of Public Health has made a large quantity of courseware from many of their courses available online, openly licensed. Most contain at least syllabi, lecture notes, and some readings. Others include lecture audio. 

 

Open Course Library

The Open Course Library (OCL) offers collections of course materials for more than 80 courses taught at colleges in Washington. 

 

Open Learning Initiative

The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is an effort started by Carnegie Mellon University, which offers free and innovative online courses to anyone who wishes to make use of them. 

 

Open Yale Courses

Yale University has begun posting complete courses online for anyone to use, complete with complete course lectures. 

 

Saylor Academy Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative that offers free and open online courses for anyone who wishes to take them. 
UCI Open  The University of California - Irvine has a large collection of openly licensed courses available for the public to use, licensed under Creative Commons licenses. 

 

Image Sources

The collections below are repositories containing open images, and each collection contains its own individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

Flikr

Flikr  is a photo sharing platform that allows users to refine their searches specifically to images that are openly licensed.**

 

Google Images

Google Image's 'Advanced Search' feature allows users to limit their results to only return openly licensed resources.**

 

Open Clip Art

Open Clip Art is a website comprised entirely of public domain clip art. All images are free to be used in any legal way. 

 

Pixabay Pixabay is a website that contains royalty-free stock photos, meaning that they have been licensed under a CC0 license (public domain). 

**Note: Not all results contained within are guaranteed to be openly licensed. Pay special attention to check the licenses on each item you intend to use. 

Music and Video Sources

The collections below are repositories containing open music and videos, and each collection contains its own individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

Music  
ccMixter

ccMixter is a community music remixing site created by Creative Commons, which features music samples and complete remixes for public use. Each track is licensed under a Creative Commons license, however the licenses may vary from item to item. 

 

Free Music Archive The Free Music Archive is a library of free, legal audio downloads directed by the WFMU - a freeform radio station. Inspired by the open source movement and Creative Commons, the songs provided are openly licensed under terms set by the individual artists. 
 
FreeSound

FreeSound is a collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, sound recordings, and sound effects that have been released under open licenses to allow others to make use of them. Pay attention to the licenses of the individual items. 
 

Jamendo Jamendo is an open music site that first was created as part of the open source/free culture movements. It provides free music in a variety of genres, available for download under Creative Commons licenses. Pay attention to the licenses granted for the individual songs.
 
Video  
Vimeo

Vimeo is a video sharing platform that allows for users to specifically search for video resources that are openly licensed under Creative Commons licenses **

 

Youtube

Youtube is a video sharing platform allows for users to specifically search for video resources that are openly licensed under Creative Commons licenses **

**Note: Not all results contained within are guaranteed to be openly licensed. Pay special attention to check the licenses on each item you intend to use. 

U.S. Government Resources

The collections below are resources published by various agencies within the U.S. Government. As a general rule, works created by government employees in the United States as part of their employment are considered to be in the public domain. However, you should always verify the copyright status of any items you wish to use. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

 

Bureau of Economic Analysis The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides a variety of interactive data options that researchers can manipulate for their individual needs. The data is public domain. 
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data The Bureau of Labor Statistics, part of the U.S. Department of Labor, provides data on a wide array of topics - including employment, spending and time use, workplace injuries, etc. The data is in the public domain. 

Congressional Budget Office

The  Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides public information regarding the budget of the U.S. Congress, including estimates of the cost of federal credit programs, and information on how changes in economic conditions affect the federal budget. The information provided by CBO is in the public domain. 
Data.gov Data.gov is an online hub for the U.S. government's open data, containing more than 285,000 datasets. Any data originating from the U.S. government is in the public domain. 
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (E-CFR) is an electronic version of the code of federal regulations, published by the Government Publishing Office, updated daily. 
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides economic data related to a wide array of economic issues. Copyright and permissions for the data depends on the independent resource, though all are free to access. 
 
GovInfo GovInfo is a service provided by the U.S. Government Publishing Office, which provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government. 
IIP Publications  IIP Publications is a site managed by the Bureau of International Information Programs of the U.S. State Department. It contains texts on a wide variety of topics related to both the United States and international issues. 
Office of Trade Policy and Analysis The Office of Trade Policy and Analysis (TP&A), as part of the International Trade Administration, produces economic data on the trade policy priorities of the federal government. 
 
U.S. Census Bureau - Economic Indicators The U.S. Census Bureau has provided public access to economic indicator data. This data includes indicators such as U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services, Construction Spending, New Residential Sales, Manufacturing and Trade Inventories and Sales, etc. This data is in the public domain. 
U.S. National Archives The United States National Archives acts as the nation's record keeper, keeping important legal or historical documents and materials for preservation. Most of the documents and images contained within the archive, unless otherwise noted, are in the public domain. 

 

K-12 Resources

The collections below are repositories containing resources that teachers may use in K-12 classrooms, containing individual license(s) that must be adhered to. For additional material types, see the drop down menu to the left. 

General Resource Databases  

cK-12

cK-12 is a free resource database containing a library of standards-alighned online textbooks, videos, exercises, flashcards, and applications for more than 5,000 K-12 concepts. 
 
Curriki Curriki is an online database of  educator-vetted open educational resources for use in K-12 classrooms, created and shared by teachers, educators, and professionals worldwide. 
 
Go Open Michigan A library of open educational resources created by Michigan educators and funded by the State of Michigan. #goopenmichigan
 
Khan Academy Khan Academy provides free access to practice exercises, instructional videos, and other educational content in order to provide a world-class education to anyone, anywhere. 
 

MIT Open Courseware - Highlights for High School

An offshoot of the college-level open courseware project from MIT, this site compiles resources that are useful for High School students and teachers, including videos, homework problem sets, and other exam prep/ homework help materials. 
 
Michigan Open Book Project Founded and funded as part of the Technology Readiness Infrastructure Grant (TRIG), this online library contains a collection of open textbooks for use in classrooms around Michigan. 
 
The Orange Grove The Orange Grove is the state of Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository, home to more than 40,000 K-12 resources.  
 
WikiJunion A project produced in conjunction with WikiBooks, WikiJunior is a site containing age-appropriate, community-produced non-fiction books for children age 0-12 years. The books have all been published under a Creative Commons CC-BY-SA license. 
 
Video Databases  
Hippocampus

Hippocampus is a video library containing more than 7,000 free videos in 13 subject areas. 

 

MIT Blossoms

MIT Blossoms is an online library of math and science video lessons for use in high-school classes

 

Lessons, Lesson Plans, and Curriculum  
BetterLesson BetterLesson is a teaching project devoted to building an online body of knowledge around authentic instructional practice. It includes a collection of lesson plans designed to meet discipline standards. 
 
EDSITEment An online library from the National Endowment for the Humanities that includes lesson plans and study activities for students. 
 
Mathematics Vision Project  The Mathematics Vision Project (MVP) provides curriculum for students in mathematics classrooms ranging from Secondary Math 1 through Algebra 2. 
 
Share My Vision

 an online repository of k-12 lesson plans, created by teachers for teachers. 

 

TeacherTube  a resource that allows teachers to upload and view video recordings of lessons taught in their classroom, to aid others in forming lesson plans
 
TED Ed TED Ed is a site created by the founders of the TED Talk series, in which faculty can create customized lessons for thier students based on TED talks and any other YouTube videos.