Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Order books with Tipasa
Please see our Tipasa page for access to and information about our new interlibrary loan system.
A Cognitive Psychology of Mass Communication by In a constantly changing media landscape, A Cognitive Psychology of Mass Communication is the go-to text for any course that examines mass communication from a psychological perspective. Now in its seventh edition, the book continues its exploration of how our experiences with media affect the way we acquire and process knowledge about the world and how this knowledge influences our attitudes and behavior. Updates include end-of-chapter suggestions for further reading, new research and examples for a more global perspective, as well as an added emphasis on the power of social media in affecting our perceptions of reality and ourselves. While including real-world examples, the book also integrates psychology and communication theory along with reviews of the most up-to-date research. The text covers a diversity of media forms and issues, ranging from commonly discussed topics such as politics, sex, and violence, to lesser-studied topics, such as emotions and prosocial media. Readers will be challenged to become more sensitized and to think more deeply about their own media use as they explore research on behavior and media effects. Written in an engaging, readable style, the text is appropriate for graduate or undergraduate audiences. The accompanying companion website also includes resources for both instructors and students. For students: Chapter outlines and review questions Useful links For instructors: Guidelines for in-class discussions Sample syllabus Summaries Please visit www.routledge.com/cw/sanborn
Publication Date: 2018-12-13
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
CQ Magazine (CQ Weekly)
CQ Magazine reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week. CQ covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, m
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana and more.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
The database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
ProQuest's Statistical Abstract is a searchable database of social, cultural, political and business statistics in the United States. The database provides tables which can be printed or saved.
Search scholarly literature from one convenient place.Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications.Locate the complete document through your library or on the web. Keep up with recent developments in any area of research. Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile.
ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS)
These resources are recommended by librarians from the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section from the Association of College & Research Libraries of the American Library Association. Check it out! Subject areas include:
- Diversity, Race and the Media
- Intercultural Communication
- Media Ethics
- Media Ratings, Data, and Statistics
- Public Speaking
- Women & Media
Assessment & Research Librarian
Need Statistics, Facts, and Polls?
Exploring Images & Videos Online