Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Video Tutorials: Searching Specific Databases

Accessing and Using New York Times

Provides instructions on how to set up your account to view unlimited New York Times articles as well as how to search the Times Machine for archived issues of the New York Times.

Credit: Catherine Curtis

JSTOR

This video provides an introduction on how to access and search the JSTOR database.

Credit: Catherine Curtis

CINAHL Search

Tutorial on how to search CINAHL, a health database.

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

Joanna Briggs Institute Search Tips

Search tips on how to search the Joanna Briggs Institute database, a database of evidence-based practice guidelines for nursing practitioners and researchers.

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

OVID Search Tips

Brief tutorial on how to search the OVID database for nursing journals.

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

ProQuest Search Tips for Nursing Students

Geared toward nursing students, this tutorial gives a demo on how to search the ProQuest database.                                                                               

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

Science Direct Search Tips

Provides a brief tutorial on utilizing the Science Direct database.

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

Cochrane Library Search Tips

Provides tips on how to search the Health database Cochrane for reviews.

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

Searching the New York Times Historical Database (ProQuest)

Provides strategies to use in searching the New York Times database to find primary sources.                                                                                           

Credit: Catherine Curtis

 

Searching the ProQuest database - Overview

How to search the ProQuest database, a general, multisubject database.

Credit: ProQuest Training

 

Searching Sage Premier

Provides an overview on how to search the Sage Premiere database, a general, multi-subject database.

Text Transcript

Credit: Michelle Strasz

Using Ulrichsweb

Demonstrates how to use Ulrichsweb to determine if a journal is peer reviewed.

Credit: Michelle Strasz

Google Scholar Search Tips

Provides tips on how to search Google Scholar effectively.

Text Transcript

Credit: Scott Mellendorf

Improving Search Results in We Search

This tutorial demonstrates how you can improve your EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search results using limiters, expanders, and facets found on the result list screen.

Credit: EBSCO Tutorials