Multidisciplinary Databases
Since Black Studies is a interdisciplinary field, there is no single database that covers the subject. Multidisciplinary and relevant subject databases are great places to begin academic research.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window JSTOR has an option to filter by journal disciplines, including African American Studies and African Studies.
Historical Collections
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Contains a large collection of African American newspapers.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window Articles and primary sources about the African American experience.
- African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window Works about African American and African history and culture.
- Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window Information written by African Americans involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
- Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Back issues of Ebony Magazine dating from 1945-2014. Focuses on African American topics.
- NAACP Papers (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window Internal memos, legal briefings and direct action summaries from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1909 to 1972.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window Articles and documents on slavery in the United States. Full text includes government documents regarding slavery in the United States. Full text articles may be found elsewhere in the library or through a Tipasa request.
- Urban History Bibliography This link opens in a new window Information on research about urban history. Not full text.
- Black Newspapers Collection The Black Newspapers Collection presents newspapers, including college papers, that were owned by, operated by, or intended for Black communities in Illinois.
Relevant Subject Databases
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Articles, summaries, and references to articles about communication topics.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Articles and books about language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film, and related topics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations as well as citations to book reviews.