Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SVSU Zahnow Library Collection Development Policy: Introduction

This guide contains all of the information and forms regarding the Zahnow Library's collection development and gift policies and procedures.

Collection Development Policy: Introduction

Introduction:

The collection development policy outlines the principles by which the Melvin J. Zahnow Library at Saginaw Valley State University (SVSU) selects, reviews and de-selects materials for its collection. This policy informs library users, students, faculty, administrators and staff of the material, scope and nature of the library collection.

Mission and Vision:

The Melvin J. Zahnow Library is committed to the University’s mission to “transform lives through educational excellence and dynamic partnerships, unleashing possibilities for impact in our community and worldwide.” The University’s mission is also reflected in the library’s mission of, “promoting knowledge advancement for further intellectual and personal growth.”

Collection development is at the core of this mission. The library aims to build a relevant, flexible and up-to-date collection that provides access to all types of informational resources which support the SVSU curriculum.

Intellectual Freedom and Copyright:

The Zahnow Library at SVSU adheres to the American Library Association’s Bill of Rights and the Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries. Any library user can submit a written letter or email to library administration regarding material they find objectionable inside the library and it will be reviewed in a timely manner. Please be aware that one of the library’s fundamental goals is to have a diverse collection with differing views and content. Library employees comply with all US Copyright Law including the Fair Use guidelines.

Scope:

To encourage intellectual growth, the Melvin J. Zahnow Library provides resources to support the needs of the students, faculty and staff of Saginaw Valley State University. The primary focus of the collection is to meet the curriculum needs of SVSU within a specific budget. The collection reflects a variety of formats to help maximize access to content both on and off campus.

Students, faculty and staff of SVSU can checkout materials and use the library’s electronic resources on and off campus. Alumni and visitors also have access to the library building and can get a library card. Visitors do not have off campus access to the library’s electronic databases and alumni have limited off campus access depending on the database.