Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SVSU History: Mary H. Anderson Award

About the Award

Since its inception, Saginaw Valley State University has been dependent upon the good services of adjunct faculty. These outstanding residents and participating citizens within their communities have a very positive influence upon the students of the University. They share their professional experience and expertise with students as well as give a perspective by an individual who is actively involved in the business or professional area he or she represents.

Mary H. Anderson, an adjunct faculty member at both Delta College and Saginaw Valley State University, teaches private lessons and chamber music. She is the founder and director of the Delta Flute Choir formed in 1975. She expanded her activity in the performance area by playing with various chamber groups. She was a founding member of what is now known as the Valley Wind Quintet. In 1987 she was one of the founders of Flutee, a professional Quartet in Residence at Saginaw Valley State University. This ensemble performs many concerts throughout Michigan and is very active in presenting clinics and master classes in flute performance. She is an active member of the National Flute Association and has been invited, by audition, to perform at their conventions throughout the United States. Mary is involved with arts in the community through the Bay Arts Council for which she chairs the Lenten Artist Series, and founded the Advent Organ Series in 1989 and continues as its coordinator.

Ms. Anderson virtually dedicated her life to playing the flute and sharing her talents through the instructing of others. Beginning with her freshman year at Central High School in Bay City, Mary became an avid flutist. She studied the instrument at the University of Louisville in Kentucky and performed with the Louisville Orchestra. Upon her return to the Saginaw Valley, she became a member of the Saginaw Symphony Orchestra where she became that group’s longest playing member.

To recognize Mary Anderson’s commitment to her professional area, to the betterment of the community in which she lives, and to the instruction of those who are interested in achieving their full potential, an award is being established in her name to recognize outstanding adjunct faculty at Saginaw Valley State University.

SVSU currently uses the service of more than 400 adjunct faculty. Compensation of these dedicated people tends to be minimal. The University is pleased to join hands with Mr. Andrew Anderson in establishing the Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award.

The award consists of a plaque, which names the recipient as the Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award winner for the academic year, a $750 check, and inclusion in a permanent display of all university award winners

SVSU site for the Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award

Award Recipients

Mary H. Anderson Adjunct Faculty Award

  • 1994 – Rosmari Pernesz (German)
  • 1995 – Marica L. Ribble (English)
  • 1996 – Russell C. Will (Science)
  • 1997 – Barbara A. Kennison (Nursing)
  • 1998 – C. Timothy Weier (Mathematical Sciences)
  • 1999 – William R. Able (Astronomy)
  • 2000 – Thomas P. Conklin (Sociology)
  • 2001 – Darin Evon (Physics)
  • 2002 – Sharon A. Robinson (Mathematical Sciences)
  • 2003 – Bruce King (Chemistry)
  • 2004 – William R. Bowen (Business & Management)
  • 2005 – Kathleen L. Pelkki (Biology)
  • 2006 – Stephen W. Froelicher (Chemistry)
  • 2007 – Phyllis Lietzke (Economics)
  • 2008 – Melissa Kaczmarek (Teacher Education)
  • 2009 – Paula Mantei (Modern Foreign Languages)
  • 2010 – Charles Davenport (English)
  • 2011 – Walter Malec (Physics)
  • 2012 – Kimberly Sawatzki (Social Work)
  • 2013 - Kristina Rouech (English)
  • 2014 - Lester Altevogt (Mathematical Sciences)
  • 2015 - Nicholas Wagner (Institutional Research)
  • 2016 - Walter Reynolds (Criminal Justice)
  • 2017 - Sara Brooks Clark (Art)
  • 2018 - Roberto Garcia (English)
  • 2019 - Sarah Owens (Teacher Education)