Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SVSU History: Terry Ishihara Award

About the Award

The Terry Ishihara Co-Curricular Involvement Award is presented annually to one faculty member and one staff member to recognize their contributions to students, the University and community through development of, as well as, participation and attendance at SVSU co-curricular activities.

Amount of Award: $1000 Faculty stipend & $1000 Staff stipend

Eligibility: All SVSU Employees

SVSU site for the Terry Ishihara Co-Curricular Involvement Award

Award Recipients

Terry Ishihara Awards for Outstanding Co-Curricular Involvement

  • 1993 - Terry Ishihara (ME & T) and Raymond Foster (S & E Outreach Coordinator)
  • 1994 - Rosalie Riegle Troester (English) and Ted J. Nitz (Personal Counselor)
  • 1995 - Robert C. Braddock (History) and Ann M. Garcia (Evening Services)
  • 1996 - Peter J. Moehs (Chemistry) and Michael W. Panhorst (Marshall MFredericks Sculpture Gallery)
  • 1997 - George W. Eastland, Jr. (Chemistry) and John A. Flores (Michigan College University Partnership Coordinator)
  • 1998 - Scott M. Youngstedt (Sociology) and Kathy Lopez (Graduate Admissions Coordinator)
  • 1999 - H. James Geistman, Jr. (English) and Richard A. (Tony) Thompson (Personal Counseling)
  • 2000 - Thomas J. Renna (History) and Joe A. Vogl (Manager – Ryder Center)
  • 2001 - Phyllis G. Hastings (English) and Shelly Reminder (Admin. Secretary Athletics)
  • 2002 - David H. Swenson (H. H. Dow Endowed Chemistry Chair) and Walter Head (Baseball Coach)
  • 2003 - Rosalie G. Riegle (English) and Dean A. Lockwood (Men’s Basketball Coach)
  • 2004 - Christopher Schilling (Strosacker Endowed Engineering Chair) and Deboarah M. Martin (Administrative Secretary International Programs)
  • 2005 - Moe Bidgoli (Computer Science)
  • 2006 - Kenneth Jolly (History) and Nick P. Badalamenti (Maintenance)
  • 2007 - James G. Royle (Teacher Education) and John A. Flores (Assistant Director Minority Student Services)
  • 2008 - Fenobia Dallas (English) and Perry Toyzan (Graphics Center)
  • 2009 - John Kaczynski (Political Science) and Kathy Lopez (College of Education)
  • 2010 - Burk Foster (Ombudsman) and Jennifer Rushton (Athletics)
  • 2011 - Andrew Swihart (Psychology) and Nicholas Wagner (Housing)
  • 2012 - Arthur L. Martin, III (Biology) and Bryan Crainer (Academic Advisement Center)
  • 2013 - Julie Keil (Political Science) and Samuel Tilmon (Career Services)
  • 2014 - Kim Lacey (English) and Tammy Elliott (Academic Affairs)
  • 2015 - Nameeta Mathur (History) and Jason Wolverton (Dinning Services)
  • 2016 - Adam Coughlin (Kinesiology) and Jaime Leyrer (Special Assistant to Dean College of Business & Management)
  • 2017 - LaCreta Clark (Educational Leadership Services) and Mike Major (Career Services)
  • 2018 - Ava Lewis and Sharmee Gloss
  • 2019 - Veronica Drake and Courtney Fylling