It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 111: Introduction to Historical Study Research Guide: Locating Articles (Secondary Sources)
Secondary Sources (sources that interpret and analyze primary sources and are one step removed from the event) are often published in scholarly/academic journal articles as well as magazine articles. Use SVSU's subscription databases to locate this type of information.
You can search multiple article databases at once using the search box on the library's homepage.
After entering your search, look for the Source Types limiter on the left to limit your results to articles.
Suggested Article Databases for World War I
Search the following databases individually for articles related to your topic.
JSTORJSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival record of each journal. Coverage begins at the first volume and issue of the journal ever published, and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
SVSU subscribes to Arts & Sciences 1, 2. 3 and 5 only. Other articles must and books be requested through Tipasa.
ProQuestContains millions of articles and citations from thousands of sources on many different subject areas. (This version of ProQuest is a compilation of over 20 ProQuest databases searchable in one product.)
Project MUSELeading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Request Articles Through Interlibrary Loan (Tipasa)