Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Primary Sources
Primary Sources are originals records created about a time period or event by someone who actually witnessed the event, participated in it, or lived at the time that it happened.
Types of Primary Sources may include: Letters, Diaries, Newspapers, Speeches, Interviews, Memoirs, and Photographs.
Some Primary Sources have been digitized and can be found using the SVSU databases or through the suggested websites listed below.
Primary Sources - SVSU Databases
Locate Primary Sources - Recommended SVSU Databases
New York Times Historical Newspapers
Contains full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th Century. SVSU username and password required.
Contains digital resources from open archive collections including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies and data sets.
To find primary sources, limit your search by date.
World War I - Primary Sources on the Web
The Battle of the Somme 1 July-18 November 1916. From The First World War Poetry Digital Archive, University of Oxford (http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/item/3493)
Eugenics in the US and Great Britain - Primary Sources on the Web
Posters. Eugenics Society Archive. Wellcome Library. 1930s. http://wellcomelibrary.org
The Eugenics Society archive
The Eugenics Society Archive includes annual reports, minute books and collections of press cuttings from the Society's earliest years. There are also a number of posters, pamphlets and other ephemera relating to its propaganda activities that provide striking visual illustrations of contemporary attitudes to the family, race and breeding.
Disability History Museum
Contains documents and images associated with the cultural and social history of people with disabilities. Most of the Collections' records were produced in the United States from 1800 to the present.
Search by keyword: Eugenics
The Eugenics Review
Contains issues of the journal Eugenics Review, published between 1909-1968.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Contains digitized material related to the issue of Eugenics mostly published between 1902-1934.
British Suffragette Movement - Primary Sources on the Web
Suffragettes being escorted by police in London, England. From The Searcy Collection. State Library of South Australia. (http://www.catalog.slsa.sa.gov.au:80/record=b2134092~S1)
The Campaign for Women's Suffrage
Contains digitized primary sources and summaries from the British Library.
From the National Archives of the United Kingdom, contains "records of the women’s suffrage movement and of the women and men who campaigned for the cause in the early part of the 20th century."
University of Glasgow Special Collection material on Women's Suffrage
Glasgow University Library's Special Collections department houses a large number of items relating to the women's suffrage movement of the early 20th century. The material is spread among various collections, and covers a wide range of subjects. This web page offers an overview of their resources in this area, representing organisations campaigning for suffrage, individuals working against women's right to vote, satirical comment on suffrage and how demonstrations affected individuals outside of the campaign.