|
SVSU database: log-in required Contains full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times dating back to the 19th Century. |
||
| Life Magazine Archives |
SVSU database: log-in required Contains an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000. |
|
| OAISter |
Contains digital resources from open archive collections including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies and data sets. |
|
| HathiTrust Digital Library | HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries that preserves and provides access to over 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law. | |
| National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) |
The official archives of the United States contains federal records dating back to 1775 contains textual records, maps, charts, architectural drawings, and photographs of historical and legal value. |
|
|
Formerly American Memory |
||
| The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States |
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online. |
|
| Michigana: Sources in United States History |
This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books. |
|
| New York Public Library Digital Library | Contains over 700,000 images including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more. | |
| Making of America | A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. | |
| Duke University Digital Collections | Contains primary sources from Duke University's Special Collections and its affiliated organizations. Collections cover women's history, African American history, advertising and consumer culture and more. | |
| Calisphere | More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. | |
| Accessible Archives | Contains primary source material from select 18th and 19th century American periodicals | |
| Documenting the American South | A digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill which provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. | |
| Immigration to the US, 1789-1930 | A collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. includes more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, totaling over 400,000 pages; more than 1,800 archives and manuscripts selections, totaling over 9,600 pages; over 100 individually cataloged maps; and more than 7,800 photographs. | |
| Google News Archive | Searches content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled. Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee--be sure to check Zahnow Library to see if we provide access to a source before paying a fee for it. Limit your results by date to improve the relevancy of your results. | |
| Moving Image Archive | This resource contains over a million digital movies ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. | |
| Universal Newsreels | "Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience. These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting." | |
| ArchiveGrid | ArchiveGrid allows you to search through collection descriptions of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in thousands of archives, libraries, and museums around the world. |
| Library of Michigan Digital | Library of Michigan Digital Collections offers access to uniquely Michigan materials. Explore these collections for images, publications, scrapbooks and other media that tell a Michigan story. |
| Seeking Michigan |
The Library of Michigan and Archives of Michigan digital library of photographs, maps, spoken histories, and documents |
| Digital Michigan Newspaper Portal (Clarke Historical Library) | Access digitized versions of newspapers made available from a variety of sources. Among these links are papers held by the Clarke Historical Library and also Michigan newspapers found in Chronicling America , a database maintained by the Library of Congress. |
| Detroit Public Library Special Collections |
Contains photographs from various collections within the Detroit Public Library Special Collections including the Making of Modern Michigan Collection and the Third Michigan Cavalry Collection. |
| The Making of Modern Michigan |
A collection of digitized photographs from the Hekman Digital Archive at Calvin College |
| Grand Valley State University Special Collections and Archives Digital Collection |
Contains images of decorative book covers, fore-edge paintings, documents, diaries, posters, photographs, and audio and video interviews. Topics include the Civil War; the experience of veterans, Michigan regional history, art, and culture; and Grand Valley State University history from 1957. |
US Presidential Library Websites
The Presidential Library system is composed of thirteen Presidential Libraries overseen by the Office of Presidential Libraries, in the National Archives and Records Administration. They are repositories of papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents and are excellent sources of information for historians and other researchers studying United States history.
|
|
|
African American & Civil Rights Movement Primary Source Websites
| Black Abolitionist Papers |
Requires SVSU log-in Contains a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. The content includes letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, and essays from libraries and archives in England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. Over 15,000 items written by nearly 300 Black men and women are available for searching. |
|
| African American Experience |
Requires SVSU log-in Through primary sources and the lens of prominent scholars, this database gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day. |
|
| Oxford African American Studies Center |
Requires SVSU log-in Full text online authority on the African American experience. Contents include over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 150 maps. 150 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts |
|
|
The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a University of Detroit Mercy collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. |
||
| African American Odyssey |
African-American collections from the Library of Congress American Memory project include The Frederick Douglass Papers, Jackie Robinson and Other Baseball Highlights, Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, and Slaves and the Courts. |
|
| North American Slave Narratives |
Contains existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920. |
|
| Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive |
Includes a selection of digitized photographs, letters, diaries, and other documents. Oral history transcripts are also available, as well as finding aids for manuscript collections. |
|
|
The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850. The site includes access to hundreds of letters, newspapers articles, legislative decrees, and diplomatic correspondence from that era. |
||
|
Freedom Summer Digital Collection |
Contains more than 25,000 pages from the Freedom Summer manuscripts. Collections include official records of organizations such as the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and Congress of Racial Equality (CORE); the personal papers of movement leaders and activists such as Amzie Moore, Mary King and Howard Zinn, letters and diaries of northern college students who went South to volunteer for the summer; newsletters produced in Freedom Schools; racist propaganda, newspaper clippings, pamphlets and brochures, magazine articles, telephone call logs, candid snapshots, internal memos, press releases and much more. |
| Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842 |
Digital Library of Georgia collection containing approximately 2,000 letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast. |
| American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection |
University of Washington's digital databases which includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include 89 articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and 23 University of Washington publications in Anthropology. |
| Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital Collection |
Images of the Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains is a searchable online photograph database created with grant support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services National Leadership Grant Program. |
| Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection |
University of Washington digital collection of printed ephemera including pamphlets, posters, manifestos, newsletters, booklets, and open letters created by the various Seattle-area and University of Washington manifestations of American civil rights and protest movements of the late 1960's and 1970's. |
| The Vietnam Center and Archive |
A digital archive containing documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. |
| Veteran's History Project |
The Project collects first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War and Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts. |
| The Valley of the Shadow |
A digital library containing thousands of original letters and diaries, newspapers and speeches, census and church records left by men and women in Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Created by the University of Virginia Library and the Virginia Center for Digital History. |
| The Crisis of the Union |
An electronic archive documenting the causes, conduct conduct and consequences of the Civil War. |
| Civil War Women |
Duke University Collection featuring scanned pages and texts of the writings of women during the American Civil War. Includes the 1864 diary of Alice Williamson, a 16 year old girl from Gallatin, Tennessee, the papers of Rose O'Neal Greenhow, a renowned Confederate spy, and the papers of Sarah E. Thompson, a spy for the Union. |
| Civil War Diaries and Letters |
Contains digitized items from the University of Iowa Library's Special Collections. |
| Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860-1865) |
This newspaper was published from the Confederate capital and has a digitized and searchable online archive of 1,384 issues. The site is funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. |
| Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress | Approximately 20,000 documents, which include correspondence with enclosures of newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, notes, pamphlets, and other printed material by Lincoln, are available. Most of the material dates from the presidential years. Lincoln had a lively correspondence with many people in his day, so this is a rich resource. Each piece is scanned, with accompanying transcription. Searchable by keyword or just browse the collection. |
| Penn State has a rich digitized special collection. These include diaries, newspapers, and other ephemera. No transcriptions are available for the diaries, but the scanned pages are clean and easy to peruse. | |
| Harpweek |
Requires SVSU log-in Contains full-text issues of the illustrated newspaper Harper's Weekly from the Civil War Era to the early Gilded Age. 1857-1889 |
| Working Women |
Harvard University's Special Collection focusing on women's roles in the US economy between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are all documented by original source materials. |
| Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection |
American Memory Collection consisting of books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign |