A COMPREHENSIVE RESOURCE ON GERONTOLOGY AND GERIATRICS Since its inception in 1987, The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Like its three esteemed predecessors, the fourth edition contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Health and Aging. This one-volume encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. The 250 entries and relevant appendices cover: biological; psychological; social; and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within health-care systems. As an ever increasing percentage of the population of western societies enters `old age', health issues grow in importance in terms of the well-being of this population, economic impact within the health-care system, impacts on families and family relationships and in so many other ways.
The number of people in this country over the age of 65 is expected to rise dramatically in the coming years. As Baby Boomers age, many require assistance ranging from transportation for daily errands to round-the-clock medical care. Younger people face difficult choices in caring for aging family members and helping them select the best assistance and living options. From choosing between assisted living or nursing homes and paying for costly prescriptions and health care to resolving sibling squabbles over caring for an elderly parent and facing difficult end-of-life decisions, ""The Encyclopedia of Elder Care"" serves as a comprehensive and objective guide for students and professionals alike.
In Understanding Aging and Diversity: Theories and Concepts, Patricia Kolb presents important sociological theories and concepts for understanding experiences of older people and their families in a rapidly changing world.
This newest edition of a core graduate level textbook has added six new chapters to further enrich the ""gerontological imagination,"" and encourage an interdisciplinary approach to the study of aging.
As an "ism," ageism reflects a prejudice in society against older adults. Ageist attitudes are perpetuated in many ways: for example, by the lack of positive images of the elderly in advertisements and on TV programs, as well as the widespread use of demeaning language about old age. The intentional mistreatment of, or harm to, elderly persons is classified as elder abuse. An abuser can be anyone that an older person comes in contact with, such as a caregiver, a neighbor, or others who has a negative attitude towards the elderly.
Productive Aging: An Occupational Perspective is a concise and practical text that takes a fresh look at our rapidly expanding and diverse older population. Recognizing the unique identity of each older person, this text provides client-centered guidelines for maximizing function, independence, and wellness. Productive Aging also outlines self-management strategies for promoting participation and engagement in productive occupations for the older persons' own continuing development, health, and well-being.
This powerful book analyses the vital dimensions of money, health, place, quality of life and identity, and demonstrates the gaps of treatment and outcomes between older and younger people, and between different groups of older people. Written by leading experts in the field, it provides strong evidence of the scale of current disadvantage in the UK and suggests actions that could begin to change the picture of unequal ageing.'Unequal ageing' is aimed at all those with a serious interest in the unprecedented challenge of our ageing society.
This book is a major reassessment of work in the field of critical gerontology, providing a comprehensive survey of issues by a team of contributors drawn from Europe and North America. The book focuses on the variety of ways in which age and ageing are socially constructed, and the extent to which growing old is being transformed through processes associated with globalisation. The collection offers a range of alternative views and visions about the nature of social ageing, making a major contribution to theory-building within the discipline of gerontology.
At present, about 45 million Americans are over the age of 65, and by 2020, one out of every six Americans will be 65 or older. These statistics are reflective of a worldwide phenomenon in developing and developed countries alike unrivalled since the Industrial Revolution.
The array of topics covered is amazing, making this book a valuable, significant resource for many disciplines...This multidisciplinary review of the literature on minority aging presents the scholarship related to public health and 'social, behavioral, and biological concerns' of aged minorities like no other publication. It is the only book to focus on paramount public health issues as they relate to older minority Americans, and addresses social, behavioral, and biological concerns for this population.
The relationship between ageing and crime has been a much neglected issue, the focus rather being on youth. This books aims to redress this imbalance, bringing together a group of leading authorities to address key issues on the subject of crime and ageing, considering older people as both victims and perpetrators of crime, and looking too at conditions faced by older prisoners.
A leading expert in the science of healthy aging, Dr. Eric B. Larson offers practical advice for growing old with resilience and foresight. More than just canned advice, Enlightened Aging proposes a path to resilience--one that's proven to help many stave off disability until very old age.
Aging in America examines the great challenges America will face in caring for aging baby boomers. The collection begins with statistical data on the major health issues for boomers, the demographics of the population, and the availability of health care in the future.