Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remember the web is not a collection of magazines articles! Use reliable internet sourses.
BOOKS OF INTEREST @ THE LIBRARY
Making of American Landscape by
Publication Date: 2010-01-21
The only compact yet comprehensive survey of environmental and cultural forces that have shaped the visual character and geographical diversity of the settled American landscape. The book examines the large-scale historical influences that have molded the varied human adaptation of the continent’s physical topography to its needs over more than 500 years. It presents a synoptic view of myriad historical processes working together or in conflict, and illustrates them through their survival in or disappearance from the everyday landscapes of today.
Across this land : a regional geography of the United States and Canada. by
Call Number: E40.5 .H83 2002
"A well-written story of a land and people, enhanced by photographs taken over a 20-year period. The narrative is tied to a series of fascinating and uncluttered maps, which enable readers to relate place and circumstance... This regional study of the geography of North America is as comprehensive as it is excellent." -- Choice
Atlas of North America
Call Number: Ref G1105 .A8 2005
This exhaustive, authoritative resource presents a dynamic view of Canada, the U.S., and Mexico. Well organized, with an appropriate balance of written and visual material, the book opens with two pages of statistics that provide information on the population, capital, and area of states, provinces, and largest cities; records pertaining to temperatures, rainfall, and volcanic eruptions; and largest rivers and lakes, etc.
Black geographies and the politics of place. by
Call Number: E185.86 .B52557 2007
The history of black people in the Americas and the Caribbean cannot be told without addressing powerful geographical shifts: massive forced migrations, land dispossession, and legal as well as informal structures of segregation. From the Middle Passage to the "Whites Only" signposts of US apartheid, the black Diasporic experience is rooted firmly in the politics of place.
Contemporary ethnic geographies in America. by
Call Number: E184.A1 C5975 2007
Ethnic diversity has marked the United States from its inception and is now experiencing watershed changes in its social, cultural, and ethnic/racial geographies. Considering the impact of these wide-ranging changes, this unique text examines a range of ethnic groups in both historical and contemporary context.
Encyclopedia of rural America : the land and people. by
Call Number: Ref E169.12 .E53 v. 1-2
The Encyclopedia of Rural America was well received when first published in 1997. To say that a great deal has happened since then that affects rural life and culture is one of those vast understatements that hardly require mentioning. The introduction points out some of the changes from the first edition.
Geography in America at the dawn of the 21st century. by
Call Number: G99.2 .G46 2005
"This is a remarkable compilation, serving as a useful sourcebook for those seeking an overview of current thinking and research activity in any of the many subfields now recognized within American geography."--The Geographical Review
Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional culures. by
Call Number: Ref F591 .G75 2004 v.1-8
“In recognition of the growing importance of regional studies programs in universities, colleges, and secondary education, this set provides a comprehensive view of America's regional history and culture....this encyclopedia set provides a resource that is compatible with regional studies curricula.
Historical atlas of the United States : with original maps. by
Call Number: G1201.S1 H4 2007
Hayes, the writer/compiler of the America Discovered and Historical Atlas of the Arctic, presents a fine mix of research, design and craftsmanship in this collection of maps "from 1492 to 9/11." This is history "in comprehensive form from the unique geographic perspective allowed by the study of original maps," and a perfect holiday gift treat for the map, travel or history buff.
Michigan's Columbus : the life of Douglass Houghton by
Call Number: QE22.H83 L45 2009
"As the fledgling state's first geologist, he found more than any explorer before him from salt springs to gypsum. His reports helped launch a rush to the Keweenaw Peninsula s Copper Country. He also found time to be elected mayor of Detroit and teach at the University of Michigan, all before the age of thirty-six."
New faces in new places : the changing geography of American immigration. by
Call Number: JV6465 .N484 2008
New Faces in New Places illustrates the many ways that communities across the nation are reacting to the arrival of immigrant newcomers, and suggests that patterns and processes of assimilation in the twenty-first century may be quite different from those of the past.
US labor in trouble and transition : the failure of reform from above, the promise of revival from below. by
Call Number: HD6508 .M685 2007
"US Labor in Trouble and Transition" tells the story of union decline in America and of the split in the labor movement it led to, following the dismal tale of union mergers and management partnerships that accompanied the retreat from militancy since the 1980s. Looking to the future, Moody shows how the rise of immigrant labor and its efforts at self-organization can re-energize the unions from below.
Why georgraphy matters : three challegenes facing America : climate change, the rise of China, and global terrorism. by
Call Number: GF503 .D4 2005
Geography professor de Blij writes from a conviction that not only the American public but also government officials can be dangerously ignorant of basic geography, so to enlighten them he discusses three topics with national security implications. His tour of Islamic radicalism has the most immediate relevance and, buttressed by a profusion of maps, it covers Afghanistan, Iraq, the Islamic "front" in sub-Saharan Africa, and--Paraguay?
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection
Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals.
Global Road Warrior
"The ultimate guide to the world."
U.S. Government Publications.
Journal of Historical Geography
Journal of Historical Geography publishes articles on all aspects of historical geography and cognate fields, including environmental history.
Limit to 16 geography full text journals.
Maps A to Z
AtoZMapsOnline.com is the worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
"Through innovation and collaborative development, Project MUSE anticipates the needs of and delivers essential resources to all members of the scholarly community."
Nine full text environmental journals.
Type keywords or keyword phrases in the Summary search box. SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals.