Oct 2018 Meeting
Attendees: Ashley, Catherine, Kathleen, Matt, Scott, & Michelle
Agenda of meeting, we switched it up a bit. Scott had us send him issues about Research Services or the Library that we wanted to discuss.
RS Meeting Scheduled for 9/28/18 was canceled due to only
three total RS Librarians at work that day. Instead an email update
was conducted of which only two RS Librarians sending updates.
Sept RS Update...
-Project Echo: Nursing TeleHealth Support Initiative
Anita and I met with Kathleen Schachman and Trisha Charbonneau-Ivey from the nursing dept. They are
the project managers. The article I sent you does a great job of providing both background information
and an example how librarians will be involved with the project.
Here are some details that were discussed....
*The "Hub Team" will be focused on "substance use disorder" with a primary focus on opioids
*There are only two other Echo hubs in Michigan and we might be the first in Michigan to utilize librarians
*Our target will be rural providers
*We explained (as the article did) we have to honor copyright law regarding any research done with subscription databases.
*Citations from our subscription databases will be okay but librarians will also search open access resources.
*The telehealth meetings will take place at McLaren Bay Region Hospital.
*These hub meetings begin Wed, Oct 31 and meet every other Wednesday though June 2019.
I will be the primary contact person but I made a point to tell that that all of us may take a turn at the hub meetings should
schedules and time off dictate. You may also participate in other ways as my Wednesday RC desk shift will be a conflict every
other week. Also, pre-defined hum team meeting topics may require research before the meeting and I might ask for
assistance with that aspect of this project.
This is an important initiative for RS and the library as it is a direct and valuable community outreach service/program.
I hope you are excited as I am about this. Add that they came to use seeking professional librarian experience.
I would like to form the subteam below to get our assistance started. Again, as I mentioned above, you could still be asked to
attend a hub team meeting or help with my desk shift, or help with meeting pre-searching. Thanks and if you have a question about this
project, just let me know.
*Scott (primary contact)
*Michelle (1st backup due to liaison work in the Nursing program)
*Ashley (2nd backup due to work with professionals through the class taught in HS)
We are developing user personas and analyzing home page usage stats from University Communications Data.
-MiALA 2019 Conference Update
Ashley and I are meeting today to prepare for Friday's all conference committee web meeting. We have organized all
members into work groups. Those of you volunteering have been contacted regarding your subteam.
-Mel Databases Conversion
Matt and I met with Beth and TS staff last week to prepare for the conversion. Matt and I worked on the A-Z database list.
It looks like all are working except Academic Search Complete and any sub collection database from that collection.
I have informed Heather Fisher about this.
I have decided to discuss this at this month's meeting.
RS Meeting 8/30/18
Attendees: Catherine, Kathleen, Matt, Scott, and Michelle
Curriculum Builder (app for EDS) is in Scott's Canvas demo course. Heather Fisher also testing it with a faculty member for use in a course. Scott did a demo of how it works. It seems to be rather confusing and not user friendly, but we need to determine if we want this product or not. Scott stated that most apps (if his memory served him correctly) were around $1,000 to $3,000 each.
Room Reservation Software- Only working with mobile devices, UCOMM moved ahead with it and Circulation will be coordinating it. Need to have a library staff meeting on it, there are issues with the software- can't stop someone from booking the room every 2 hours. Please think about what issues or questions of we might experience with this. Once Circ Supervisors leave for the day, rooms become first come, first serve.
Library Hours - 2 weeks of our current hours then we go to extended hours of: Sunday 12pm-12am, Monday & Tuesday 8am-12am, Wednesday and Thursday 8am-11pm, finally Friday and Saturday 10am-6pm.
Thom working on patron loads. Fixing library database/library accounts can only be fixed by Cynthia or Sharon. Crystal cannot fix these accounts.
Kathleen - Instruction
Flooded with scheduling for library instruction.
Has a printed schedule of classes.
Some ENGL 111 professors are requesting an embedded librarian in addition to their library instruction class.
First ENGL 111 is on Sept. 10th.
Catherine's online ENGL 111 uses proquest - please push this online version.
Catherine - First Year Experience
Information Station Challenge is up and running. Only 1 submission so far. Changed the rules that student library workers are no longer eligible. Catherine sent C100 Students an email about the Info Station Challenge. It is intended for FY students but not required. Catherine will ask Circ Superviors to have their students push the challenge.
Michelle - Online Course Librarian Program
OCL survey results have been looked through and the report has been written. Waiting on our editor, Ashley to give feedback on report.
NURS 101 classes will be Sept. 7th & 14th. These are three 35 minute sessions, students will also see Writing Center and Tutoring Center at that time as well.
Matt - Collection Development
Currently working on a newsletter to send to his different liaison departments.
Embedded into Emily Kelley's art class.
Isabella is requesting 3 library instruction sessions.
Budget has not changed from original estimate - 2% increase
We are cutting Bio Abstracts and AVON -they will be done in May 2019
Anita will be sending email to faculty members on the databases we are cutting.
Monograph budget the same as LY.
You can start ordering.
Matt will be sending out everyone's budget list so they know their balance.
Newspapers - Anita is considering no longer carrying any print newspapers, we are not getting them in a timely fashion, they are either late or don't come at all.
New York Times will be gone in October but we will still have the New York Times Historical.
RS Meeting 7/25/18
Starting Time: 8:45am
Attendees: Scott, Matt, & Michelle
Collection Development - Matt:
DDA plans are working well and we have spent $15,000 this year.
Kanopy is popular and we have spent $14,400 so far.
Ashley, Michelle, and Matt have weeded their areas
At the end of August and once a month on out, Matt will be sending everyone your running balance in your liaison areas.
We will no longer be ordering eBooks through Emery-Pratt, we will be ordering through eBook Central. Who will order the eBooks - per Anita, the librarians. If you are not comfortable with this, please see Matt.
We need $40,000 to cover inflation. So databases will be scrutinized for their usage and price per usage, because we need to make some cuts. There has been talk of possibly cancelling print newspapers. They run the library about $3,000 and most of the time we are getting them late or have issues missing, so Anita is considering this.
If you receive a notice in your mailbox that a book that has been ordered is ready, please email your faculty member.
If it is a rushed faculty order, HGF will email the faculty when that item is in.
Assessment - Ashley:
Scott spoke on Ashley's behalf
ENGL 111 report is very close to being done and then to be turned over to Michelle for final report Prezi to be created.
OCL Survey is complete and Ashley is working with Michelle on this.
HLC Review with Anita, this a formal university review.
Online Course Support - Michelle:
We ended FY 2017-2018 with 149 embedded courses that is up 38% from last year.
Michelle will be writing the OCL Survey report, with Ashley being the editor and creating the charts.
Michelle has weeded CSIS & SOC this summer.
Michelle is working on NURS 101 libguide and Nursing Toolkit for most nursing classes.
First Year Experience - Catherine:
Scott spoke on Catherine's behalf
PSA - Public School Academy - Sharmee has contacted Scott and he will do the single session on the 21st of August.
Catherine slated to be back the end of August, so we are going to wait on Information Station because she will most likely be back to run that
HUM101/CT, we are waiting to hear more about that, but Catherine has left us her lesson plans for those classes.
Instruction - Kathleen:
Scott spoke on Kathleen's behalf
According to library instruction statistics we matched number of classes to last year's but we had more participants this year.
ENGL 111 we were down 1 session from last year.
General Updates - Scott:
General RS Stats - Scott will have a more indepth meeting later on this topic total stats 10199- more than 1000 over lsat year and also beat 2016; total desk stats - beat last year & 2016 when adding in GH stats; total online support 4150 - highest year yet; total online courses - 149 - highest amount yet; total course responses - doubled; total chat responses - down about 56 from last year; total efer- we are 1 email up from last year; total email responses up 200 from last year.
Proposed new desk schedule going to talk about it at DH meeting later today.
Proposed new GH schedule will also be brought up at DH meeting later today.
We received new phone chargers, think about the best places for these to be located.
MiALA Conference Updates - Received volunteer list.
Scott & Ashley going to MiALA Leadership meeting on Monday, August 13th.
Meeting with other teams (TS & Access services), Scott will keep us posted.
FY 19 Initiatives meeting is coming up.
Meeting concluded at 9:45 am.
Attendees: Ashley Blinstrub, Matt Buckley, Catherine Curtis, Kathleen Kroll, Scott Mellendorf, and Michelle Strasz