Mostly pre-print articles about STEM subjects and economics. Open Access. Check with your professor before using because many of these articles have not undergone a complete peer review process.
MeL.org resource. If off campus and not affiliated with SVSU, please use this link: https://widgets.ebscohost.com/prod/customerspecific/mel/auth.php?database=ebscoprofile-autorepso
Directory about journals for researchers submitting for publication. The SVSU subscription is for business related fields only. NEW: Predatory Reports, which covers all disciplines in Cabell's.
Find your discipline under "Disciplines" on the database home page. The available disciplines are those without a "lock."
Articles about health care issues. Link will take you directly to Cochrane Reviews (Cochrane Systematic Reviews) and Clinical Answers. The library subscribes to both products.
THIS PRODUCT WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE AS OF MARCH 28 2025.
*********************************************************************************************
Statistics about U.S. demographics and consumer data.
Provides in-depth U.S. demographic and consumer data including population size and consumer spending. You can run comparison reports as well and the data can be viewed online or exported to spreadsheets.
Library Liaison - Matt Buckley - 989.964.2844 - mjbuckl1@svsu.edu
A search tool that searches multiple federal databases, providing reports, articles, and other published by the Government Printing Office (GPO). This covers many topics. *May include some non-government publications.
DSM-5
DSM-5-Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
DSM-5-Clinical Cases
DSM-5-TR
DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases
DSM-5-TR Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
Gufa de consulta del DSM-5 (Spanish)
Directory of associations, societies, and other non-profit membership organizations in the United States of America. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Encyclopedia_of_Associations)
Multiple database search. Search by topic or individual databases such as MEDLINE, WorldCat, OAIster, and ERIC. Full Text options may be linked in the citation or abstract.
Reference books covering the following topics: education, environment, general reference (including employment, health and wellness, personal finance, and social skills), history, law, nation and world, religion, and science.
Articles about astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more science related subjects.
U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
Alternate Name(s)
Grove Dictionary of Art; Oxford Art
ATTENTION USERS: We only subscribe to Grove Art which is one product on the Oxford Art Online platform. There is a 3 user limit. If you cannot access Grove, this is likely the reason why. Please contact the Library's Research Services Desk at 989-964-4242 if you have any difficulty accessing what you need.
Articles and reference books about art and artists
Library Liaison - Matt Buckley - 989.964.2844 - mjbuckl1@svsu.edu
Full text includes government documents regarding gun regulation in the United States. Full text articles may be found elsewhere in the library or through a Tipasa request.
Documents about homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists.
NEW LOG IN DIRECTIONS:
1. If you have an account using your SVSU email address, log in with that.
2. If you do not have an account, click on "Create Account" then follow the steps.
3. Once you have created an account, verified it (link in your email) and then logged in, agree to the Terms.
4. Select "ICE Videos" then choose the video you need to watch.
* All new IET Journals content (beginning January 2021) will be published fully Open Access – free to read, download and share, and subject to a CC-BY license.
* All content published from 2013 to 2020 which was previously behind a paywall will now be available as Free Access. All copyrighted content published from 2013 will be free to access, download and share, but will not be subject to a CC-BY license.
The easiest way to find OA books through the JSTOR link, above, is to enter a search term, then select "Books" under Item Type in the Advanced search page. Zahnow has access to only Open Access JSTOR books at this time. Other titles will need to be requested through Tipasa.
Due to rising costs, Kanopy is now mediated. If you want a film in Kanopy that is not already leased you will need to search for the video in Kanopy and submit the request form on the video's landing page or contact the library. You should hear back no later than three (3) business days after the request.
You can see a list of SVSU's currently leased Kanopy streaming videos here: Kanopy List
If you have any questions please reach out to the library: Library Help
Articles, books, reviews, plays, poetry and primary texts about literature in English.
CHOICE: [Revisited Jun'14] Literature Online (earlier review, CH, Jan'06, 43-2547) recently received a new web interface with upgraded search engine capabilities. Though its content, focusing on 355,000-plus literary works, is similar to that of earlier versions, users will appreciate some of the enhancements, particularly those related to the Criticism search. As in the past, users from institutions with a subscription to MLA International Bibliography http://www.mla.org/bibliography may simultaneously search both MLA and ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; CH, Aug'07, 44-6555). An added feature in the new version allows users to search MLA or ABELL independently. By searching MLA alone, researchers may use field-specific searches for author as subject, literary influence, or even latest update to the MLA bibliography. The previous version of this database did not allow for such granularity. Literature Online also includes the option to search the MLA Directory of Periodicals, a useful tool for scholars to discover submission information, circulation, and more about a specific humanities journal. Another significant improvement is the capability to embed a link resolver, allowing users to easily check holdings at their respective institutions.
Articles and reference books about business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Contains Consumer Reports. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.
To search for operas, scroll down until you reach Met Opera on Demand: Student Access. Then search for the opera you would like to watch by typing in the title on the search box on the right.
Opera performances from the Metropolitan Opera in New York, including performances from Luciano Pavarotti, Placido Domingo, Maria Callas, and Joan Sutherland. Most, if not all, videos contain English subtitles.
Articles and books about language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film, and related topics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
CHOICE: Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography remains one of the most comprehensive indexes of broad-based humanities literature. The database [contains] more than two million citations from 1921 onward. the resource is strongest in criticism of English and non-English literatures, it also covers the dramatic arts (theater, film, television), popular culture, folklore, rhetoric, composition studies, linguistics, and pedagogy. Links to full-text resources contained in Project Muse.
Historical records about genealogy and history primarily from the United States, and Europe.
Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers.
Internal memos, legal briefings and direct action summaries from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) from 1909 to 1972.
Reports about criminal justice and drug control to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
This site is freely available through the U.S. government. Many, many statistics and other useful information. Some articles and books are available for a fee -- be sure to check with the library before purchasing.
Openly available dissertations, freely available. Note: Dissertations are not peer-reviewed research or scholarly articles. Students should check with their faculty before citing in a research paper or presentation.
Test summaries; test development of psychological tests; focused mostly on unpublished tests. Some full text tests available that are in the public domain.
This is PubMed but more. Use this version if you have have SVSU credentials to access our subscription databases (you are a current student, staff or faculty member). You can then locate the full text of some articles in our full text subscription databases.
When using this PubMed@Zahnow, perform a search. Click on an article link. In the upper right corner, you should see the icon for Full Text Finder (Zahnow Full Text). If you do not see the full text in PubMed, click on Zahnow Full Text for other full text options (either a link to the full text or the opportunity to request a copy through Tipasa).
Articles and documents on slavery in the United States.
Full text includes government documents regarding slavery in the United States. Full text articles may be found elsewhere in the library or through a Tipasa request.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations as well as citations to book reviews.
UptoDate is an evidence-based support tool to help find the latest research and information in medicine and patient care.
Please NOTE: To use this resource you must be an SVSU student, faculty or staff and you must register for an account using this database page. Please see the attached handout for further instructions.
A search tool that searches multiple federal databases, providing reports, articles, and other published by the Government Printing Office (GPO). This covers many topics. *May include some non-government publications.
title
Loading...
For questions or problems concerning access to the library's online resources, please contact Beth Johns. or Matthew Anderson.
