Skip to main content

SVSU Students: FAQs

Provides assistance, tips and strategies for using Zahnow Library resources

Where can I ....

 … find help locating information for a RESEARCH PROJECT?

Librarians are available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the library to assist you with resources for research projects and papers.  Call or visit the Reference Desk for one-on-one assistance, chat, text or email a librarian using the “Chat” link on the library homepage or call the Reference desk to schedule an appointment with a librarian for in-depth assistance.

 … find a BOOK?

Use the “Find books, articles, dvd and more ..." link on the library homepage (Encore), to search the library collection for  books (in print and online), journals (in print and online) and other material.  Search results will give the location of the material and a call number.

 … find a JOURNAL ARTICLE?

Use the “Find Articles” link on the library homepage left menu. Then use the "search using journal or magazine or newspaper title link" if you have a specific title.  You may also use the "search multiple databases" link to search by topic and to search more than one database at once.  Users can opt to select subject specific database collections or choose from a list of databases by using the "search by topic link". SVSU students can access databases off campus using their SVSU ID and password.

… CHECK OUT or RENEW a book, video/dvd, etc.?

Books, videos/dvds and other items can be checked out and renewed at the Circulation Desk on the first floor or at the Periodicals Desk on the second floor.  Books can be checked out for 3 weeks and renewed twice (3 week periods). Renewals can be requested online using the “My Library Account” option on the library homepage left menu or at the top of the Classic Catalog search screen. A valid SVSU student ID is required.

get BOOKS and JOURNAL ARTICLES NOT OWNED by Zahnow Library?

When you locate a book or article citation in one of the library’s databases or from a bibliography and a copy is not owned by Zahnow Library, Interlibrary Loan Services (ILLiad) can obtain a copy for you.  Books are picked up at the Circulation Desk.  Journal articles are sent electronically to your email account.

Where can I ....

 ... find  COURSE RESERVES?

 When faculty assign additional reading or provide additional material for their classes, these items are placed on RESERVE at the Circulation Desk under the faculty member’s name and course number.  If the material is in electronic format, it can be accessed via your Canvas course.

 … find a QUIET PLACE TO STUDY or a GROUP STUDY ROOM?

 The Zahnow Library has ample seating, group study rooms and conference rooms located on all four floors.  The 4th floor is designated as the “Quiet” floor.  You may use the group study rooms and conference rooms when they are not scheduled for other activities. When rooms are scheduled, signs are placed on the doors.

 … add money to my PRINT BALANCE?  http://www.svsu.edu/printbalance

 The University allots you 400 pages ($20.00) per semester (fall & winter) and 200 pages ($10.00) per semester (spring & summer).  A page costs $.05 and a color page is $.50.  Pages are deducted from your balance when you print on campus.  When you have used your allotted print balance, money can be added at the Circulation Desk or at the Cashier’s office in Wickes Hall.

  … CHECK OUT a laptop computer?

 Laptop computers are available for check out for use within the library at the Circulation Desk, first floor.  Laptops are equipped with DVD/CDRW, Windows XP Professional and are wireless ready.

 

Where can I ...

… find help CITING INFORMATION for a paper?

The Writing Center is located on the second floor of the library.  Their staff assists you with writing papers as well as using the various citing styles (MLA, APA, etc.) for bibliographies and work cited pages. The Writing Center also provides writing workshops and other resources.

 … find WIRELESS network access?

Although there are many wireless “hot spots” on campus, the entire library is wireless.  You will need to have your laptop registered to use the SVSU wireless service.  Inquire at the Information Technology helpdesk on the first floor for further information.