Metadata and Cataloging Unit: Home

Did you know that the Library of Congress classification system dates back to roughly 1900? Continually updated since its inception, SVSU uses the Library of Congress Classification System for all collections with the exception of Digital Archives, Popular Reading, Children's Literature, and the English Language Program. 

With Heather Fisher being named Head of Access Services, William Adame has been hired as the new Metadata / Catalog Librarian! 

Below are some recent statistics from our Unit:

March 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 2,071 (Average of 66.8 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 56 (Average of 1.8 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 21,353 (Average of 688.8 records per day)
• Item records edited: 97 (Average of 3.1 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 116 (Average of 3.7 per day)

February 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 228 (Average of 7.9 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 1,079 (Average of 37.2 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 21,197 (Average of 730.9 records per day)
• Item records edited: 62 (Average of 2.1 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 88 (Average of 3 per day)

January 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 3,036 (Average of 97.9 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 1,461 (Average of 47.1 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 22,293 (Average of 719.1 records per day)
• Item records edited: 129 (Average of 4.2 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 2,943 (Average of 94.9 per day)

December 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 270 (Average of 8.7 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 180 (Average of 5.8 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 16,540 (Average of 533.6 records per day)
• Item records edited: 78 (Average of 2.5 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 90 (Average of 2.9 per day)

November 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 368 (Average of 12.3 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 218 (Average of 7.3 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 13,622 (Average of 454.1 records per day)
• Item records edited: 7,193 (Average of 239.8 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 132 (Average of 4.4 per day)

October 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 364 (Average of 11.8 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 117 (Average of 3.8 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 14,003 (Average of 451.8 records per day)
• Item records edited: 7,298 (Average of 235.4 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 166 (Average of 5.4 per day)

September 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 1006 (Average of 35.5 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 681 (Average of 22.7 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 25,754 (Average of 858.5 records per day)
• Item records edited: 292 (Average of 9.7 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 88 (Average of 3 per day)

August 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 385 (Average of 12.4 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 1310 (Average of 42.3 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 24.997 (Average of 806.4 records per day)
• Item records edited: 311 (Average of 10 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 0 (Average of 0 per day)

July 2023:

• Bibliographic records added: 313 (Average of 10.1 records per day)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 33 (Average of 1.1 records per day)
• Bibliographic records edited: 16,068 (Average of 518.3 records per day)
• Item records edited: 5,800 (Average of 187.1 records per day)
• Authority records imported: 170 (Average of 5.5 per day)

July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023 year end statistics

• Bibliographic records added: 24,985 (Average of 2,082 per month)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 6,767 (Average of 564 per month)
• Bibliographic records edited: 308,575 (Average of 25,715 per month)
• Item records edited: 8,653 (Average of 721 per month)
• Authority records imported: 1,434 (Average of 120 per month)

July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022 year end statistics

• Bibliographic records added: 23,111 (Average of 2,101 per month)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 5,879 (Average of 534 per month)
• Bibliographic records edited: 510,045 (Average of 46,367 records per month)
• Item records edited: 13,823 (1,257 records per month)
• Authority records imported: 221 (Average of 20 per month)

NOTE: The Metadata / Catalog Unit worked remotely from March 17, 2020 - May 31, 2021 due to COVID.

July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021 year end statistics*

• Bibliographic records added: 65,414 (Average of 5,947 records per month)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 35,385 (Average of 3,217 records per month)
• Bibliographic records edited: 579,404 (Average of 52,673 records per month)
• Item records edited: 65,045 (Average of 5,913 records per month)
• Authority records imported: 436 (Average of 40 records per month)

*Includes 10 months of completely remote work due to COVID-19 pandemic. 

July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020 year end statistics:

• Bibliographic records added: 37,179 (Average of 3,379 per month)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 28,428 (Average of 2,369 per month)
• Bibliographic records edited: 263,936 (Average of 21,9994.6 records per month)
• Authority records added: 568 (Average of 47.3 per month)
• Authority records withdrawn: 74 (Average of 6 per month)
• Item records edited: 20,653 (Average of 1,721 per month)

July 1, 2018 - June 30, 2019 year end statistics:

• Bibliographic records added: 17,897 (Average of 1,491.4 per month)
• Bibliographic records withdrawn: 19,455 (Average of 1,621.25 per month)
• Bibliographic records edited: 1,730,115 (Average of 144,176.25 per month)
• Authority records added: 15,387
• Authority records withdrawn: 136
• Authority records edited: 583
• Item records edited: 34,806

July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018:

• Volumes added to the collections (print, media, digital): 42,462
• Volumes removed from the collections (print, media, digital): 15,063
• Bibliographic records edited (print, media, digital): 809,579

Questions?  Contact William Adame, Metadata and Catalog Librarian, at x2191 or wfadame@svsu.edu.

The second phase of the RDA 3R release is still set for sometime in October 2018.

RDA 3R - Beta release of the Toolkit set for evening of June 13, 2018.

 

The Unit engages in multiple projects daily in addition to regular cataloging duties. Here are some of the special projects we are working on:

• Ken Follett Digital Archives (now live at https://ezahnow.svsu.edu/digital/)
• Ensuring all records have an OCLC number
• Providing subject headings to records that don't have any
• Providing relationship designators for records that don't have them

Some projects will be ongoing:

• Bibliographic record cleanup (ensuring all records are consistent and meet national standards)
• Technical support for library products for SVSU students, faculty, and staff
• Continual upload/deletion of ebook subscription records
• Continual upload and maintenance of authority control records