Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Did you know?
Did you know that working in the Metadata and Cataloging Unit is a collaborative job? Although we are not usually seen by the public, Unit members regularly work with the rest of Technical Services, the Research Services Department, and the User Services Department, along with over a dozen library resource vendors!
The Unit performs many duties on a regular basis. All of the items on the "Current Project" area and cataloging of print and digital items are in addition to these duties.
Catalog Assistant duties:
- Double check catalog load processed overnight
- Check Library Guides links are working
- Set expiring Kanopy records to "Withdraw"
- Perform a New Book Inventory
- Update the New Books/New Ebooks Lists
- Remove Items Set to Withdraw
- Tally Cataloging Statistics
- Check the III Supportal, Idea Lab, Proquest Idea Exchange, and Innovative Users Web Pages for Updates
- Order Supplies
- Remove Items from New Books as Necessary
- EDS Full Load
- Send New Bibliographic Records to Marcive (on approximately the 7th of each month)
- Resolve URL Checker Errors
- Send Out DDA ebook Stat Update
- Sierra Patron Load (on approximately the 7th of each month)
- Update the Days Closed Table
- Update the Hours Open Table
- Remove Outgoing Student Authorizations
- Create Incoming Student Authorizations
- Update the Patron Database
- Change Status of Patrons to Inactive as Appropriate
- Create Suppressed Brief Bib [Semester] [Year] Capstones (Fall and Winter)
- Change Due Date for Semester Long Laptop Checkouts
- Yearly Order Record Removal (November/December)
Each Fiscal Year:
- Run the YTD/LYC Update
- Run a Collection Development Report in Web Management Reports
- Run a Collection Makeup Query in Sierra Statistics
- Change Patron Record Template Expiration Dates to 2 Years from Now
- Delete Guest and Inactive Patron Records Not Used in 3 Years
Metadata / Catalog Librarian duties:
NOTE: This position is currently also the Interim Head of Access Services. The duties listed below only reflect the Metadata / Catalog Librarian position and may not be performed with regularity until permanent staffing is secured.
- Update assigned LibGuides with current information
- Original cataloging of library resources
- Create original metadata for digital archives projects
- Clean up of bibliographic database
- Be available for at least 2 hours of reesarch assistance to general student body and liaison areas
- Perform collection development duties for liaison areas
- Article survey for updates in cataloging and liaison areas
- Participate in professional development at least once (webinar, Twitter chat, etc.)
- Attend the Music OCLC Users Group, Music Library Association, and Innovative Users Group conferences