Welcome to the ART 302 Library Guide. This site will point you to print and online library resources to help with your assignments in this course. For most book materials and articles you can always start by using the search box on the library's home page. If you are looking for more specific art resources including journal articles and images you may want to try specific art databases.
Here are some of the suggested library subject headings for Medieval Art: Art, Medieval, Christian Art and Symbolism, Architecture, Medieval, and Art, Gothic. You can search for these subject terms using the main search box on the library website home page.
If you decide to browse the print books for your art topic, especially Medieval Art, it will be scattered throughout the N call number range. Most of them are located around N5970. These books are on the third floor of the library.
Medieval Art by
An overview focussing on church buildings and the works they contain, shows the continuity and evolution of art styles from the early Christian to the late gothic period. Nearly 700 very good illustrations, 73 in color. The text draws heavily from primary sources to provide background and contempora
Images of Otherness in Medieval and Early Modern Times by
From French miniature paintings to the work of Pope Pius II, this collection of essays explores the philosophical history behind medieval European art. The essays reveal how a visual vocabulary was established among French miniature painters to express the concepts of personal identity and alterity in their work and how Pope Pius II helped spread these metaphysical ideologies across the eastern Christian world. An exhaustive and articulate guide to European art in the Middle Ages, this book is essential reading for art students and enthusiasts alike.
Binding the Absent Body in Medieval and Modern Art by
This collection of essays considers artistic works that deal with the body without a visual representation. It explores a range of ways to represent this absence of the figure: from abject elements such as bodily fluids and waste to surrogate forms including reliquaries, manuscripts, and cloth. The collection focuses on two eras, medieval and modern, when images referencing the absent body have been far more prolific in the history of art. In medieval times, works of art became direct references to the absent corporal essence of a divine being, like Christ, or were used as devotional aids. By contrast, in the modern era artists often reject depictions of the physical body in order to distance themselves from the history of the idealized human form. Through these essays, it becomes apparent, even when the body is not visible in a work of art, it is often still present tangentially. Though the essays in this volume bridge two historical periods, they have coherent thematic links dealing with abjection, embodiment, and phenomenology. Whether figurative or abstract, sacred or secular, medieval or modern, the body maintains a presence in these works even when it is not at first apparent.
The Book of Kells by
The Book of Kells is a masterpiece of medieval art--a brilliantly decorated version of the four Gospels with full-page depictions of Christ, the Virgin and the Evangelists as well as a wealth of smaller decorative painting. The strange imagination displayed in the pages, the impeccable technique and the very fine state of preservation make The Book of Kells an object of endless fascination. This edition reproduces the most important of the fully decorated pages plus a series of enlargements showing the almost unbelievable minuteness of the detail; spiral and interlaced patterns, human and animal ornament--a combination of high seriousness and humor. The text is by Bernard Meehan, the Keeper of Manuscripts at Trinity College, Dublin.
Gothic Sculpture, 1140-1300 by
This study examines the development of Gothic sculpture throughout Europe. It discusses the most famous monuments, such as the cathedrals of Chartres, Amiens and Reims, Westminster Abbey and the Siena Duomo, and less familiar buildings in France, England, Italy, Germany, Spain and Scandinavia.
Companion to Medieval Art by
A Companion to Medieval Art brings together cutting-edge scholarship devoted to the Romanesque and Gothic traditions in Northern Europe. Brings together cutting-edge scholarship devoted to the Romanesque and Gothic traditions in Northern Europe. Contains over 30 original theoretical, historical, and historiographic essays by renowned and emergent scholars. Covers the vibrancy of medieval art from both thematic and sub-disciplinary perspectives. Features an international and ambitious range - from reception, Gregory the Great, collecting, and pilgrimage art, to gender, patronage, the marginal, spolia, and manuscript illumination.
Postcolonising the Medieval Image
This book has numerous essays analyzing Medieval Art through a postcolonial lens.
Medieval Art by
This book teaches the reader how to look at medieval art-which aspects of architecture, sculpture, or painting are important and for what reasons. It includes the art and building of what is now Western Europe from the second to the fifteenth centuries.
The Gothic Enterprise by
The great Gothic cathedrals of Europe are among the most astonishing achievements of Western culture. Evoking feelings of awe and humility, they make us want to understand what inspired the people who had the audacity to build them. This engrossing book surveys an era that has fired the historical imagination for centuries. In it Robert A. Scott explores why medieval people built Gothic cathedrals, how they built them, what conception of the divine lay behind their creation, and how religious and secular leaders used cathedrals for social and political purposes. As a traveler's companion or a rich source of knowledge for the armchair enthusiast, The Gothic Enterprise helps us understand how ordinary people managed such tremendous feats of physical and creative energy at a time when technology was rudimentary, famine and disease were rampant, the climate was often harsh, and communal life was unstable and incessantly violent. While most books about Gothic cathedrals focus on a particular building or on the cathedrals of a specific region, The Gothic Enterprise considers the idea of the cathedral as a humanly created space. Scott discusses why an impoverished people would commit so many social and personal resources to building something so physically stupendous and what this says about their ideas of the sacred, especially the vital role they ascribed to the divine as a protector against the dangers of everyday life. Scott's narrative offers a wealth of fascinating details concerning daily life during medieval times. The author describes the difficulties master-builders faced in scheduling construction that wouldn't be completed during their own lifetimes, how they managed without adequate numeric systems or paper on which to make detailed drawings, and how climate, natural disasters, wars, variations in the hours of daylight throughout the year, and the celebration of holy days affected the pace and timing of work. Scott also explains such things as the role of relics, the quarrying and transporting of stone, and the incessant conflict cathedral-building projects caused within their communities. Finally, by drawing comparisons between Gothic cathedrals and other monumental building projects, such as Stonehenge, Scott expands our understanding of the human impulses that shape our landscape.
Byzantine Art by
The magnificence of this cultures palaces, churches, paintings, enamels, ceramics, and mosaics are fully represented in the book, inviting the reader on a great journey through the ages. The extraordinary power of this tradition guaranteed its survival long after the dissolution of the empire that gave it life, and the art left behind by this civilisation never stops beckoning to us.
Imago Mortis: Mediating Images of Death in Late Medieval Culture by
In Imago Mortis: Mediating Images of Death in Late Medieval Culture, Ashby Kinch argues for the affirmative quality of late medieval death art and literature, providing a new, interdisciplinary approach to a well-known body of material. He demonstrates the surprising and effective ways that late medieval artists appropriated images of death and dying as a means to affirm their artistic, social, and political identities. The book dedicates each of its three sections to a pairing of a visual convention (deathbed scenes, the Three Living and Three Dead, and the Dance of Death) and a Middle English literary text (Hoccleve's Lerne for to die, Audelay's Three Dead Kings, and Lydgate's Dance of Death).
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by 