LibGuides: HIST 111 Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Get Research Help

Call the Research Center: 989-964-4242

Locating Secondary Sources: Getting Started

Secondary Sources interpret and analyze primary sources and are one step removed from the event.

You can search in Search with Zahnow (below) for secondary sources on your topic. The Search with Zahnow search tool is also located on the library's homepage. It contains scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books from nearly 100 different databases.

Search With Zahnow

Additional Secondary Source Resources

America: History & Life Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles and books about the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR Expanded Access (temporary to June 30, 2023) This link opens in a new window
Includes journals in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
This link will provide access to titles in what the Library currently subscribes to plus these packages and resources:
Arts & Sciences Archives IV, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, XIII, XVI, XV
Business IV
Ecology & Botany II
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Jewish Studies
Life Sciences

Primary Sources Collections: 19th Century British Pamphlets, Global Plants; see links below for World Heritage Site: Africa, Struggle For Freedom: South Africa

Thematic Collections: Lives of Literature, Security Studies Collection, Sustainability Collection
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Articles related mostly to the humanities.

Classic Catalog
Zahnow Library's catalog of print and electronic books.