| Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) |
Database Vendor |
License (For Library Reference Only) | Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) | Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| Ulrichsweb | ProQuest / MCLS | ProQuest Database License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| United Nations Digital Library | United Nations | UNDL Terms | Publicly available |
Content, data, and metadata created by the UNDL may access and used free of charge for non-commercial use, provided the following citation is used: ©United Nations, [insert year], https://digitallibrary.un.org (https://digitallibrary.un.org), downloaded on [insert download date]. Re-use requires gaining permission from the Secretary of the Publications Board (permissions@un.org). Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Uses with Interlibrary Loan are prohibited without permission of the Secretary of the Publications Board. |
| United States Code (USC) | Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the US House of Representatives | No license - Government website | Public Domain - Open to all users | Best practices: Use durable links to share information and cite the source . |
| United States Supreme Court Decisions | Cornell Law School - Legal Information Institute | Cornell_LII Terms | Open Access |
The court decisions themselves are US govt works and are public domain. All additional material is licensed by Cornell University under a CC BY-NC-SA 2.5 license. Users can use the Cornell-created content provided they attribute the information to Cornell, do not use it for commercial purposes, and they must use the same license. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. |
| University of Michigan Press E-Books | University of Michigan | No license | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Each ebook title carries its own license. Click on the license icon to see the details of what is allowed. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each ebook's individual license will need to be examined. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services, with questions. |
| UpToDate | Wolters Kluwer | WK Terms | SVSU students, faculty, preceptors, and staff. |
Users may access and use the materials and provide non-profession users (i.e. patients) with certain content within the materials for personal education and informational use. All other uses are prohibited. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. |
| Urban History Bibliography | Cambridge University Press | UH Cambridge Terms | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may access, view, download, store, and print content the content. Users may download, extract, store and index content for the purposes of text and data mining for any non-commercial purpose. Users may not adapt, modify, or create derivative works except for the purposes of text or data mining. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Uses with Interlibrary Loan are prohibited.
|
| Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) | Database Vendor | License (For Library Reference Only) | Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) | Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| WestLawNext | Thompson Reuters | WestLaw TR License | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can only use the content for education, research, and non-commercial purposes. Content can be transmitted via a feature in the product, or print and share that information in the course of "regular daily business." (Best practices are to cite the source.) Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links for use in Canvas. |
| World Heritage Site: Africa | JSTOR | JSTOR_May 2023 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni may access the product via the Alumni Association JSTOR access. |
Users may engage in research activities, including downloading and printing content in "reasonable amounts" for non-commercial and scholarly purposes. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link for use in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan, provided it does not replace a subscription for the borrowing institution. Best practice is to follow CONTU guidelines. |
| WorldCat | OCLC | First Search Articles First OCLC | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may search and view the content for personal and scholarly activity. Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. All other uses are prohibited. |
| WorldCat Dissertations and Theses | OCLC | First Search Articles First OCLC | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may search and view the content for personal and scholarly activity. Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. All other uses are prohibited. |
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts | MCLS | ProQuest_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
