These journals are just some of those available for use by SVSU students, faculty and staff that are related to music. For confirmation that a journal is a peer-reviewed journal, you can either email me at hgfisher@svsu.edu, or you can check Ulrich'sWeb. (If Ulrich'sWeb has it as peer reviewed - which is also sometimes called refereed - it will have a little black and white referees shirt similar to those worn by NFL or NBA referees.)
American Music Teacher - A journal that has articles, reviews, and regular columns devoted to music education. Published bi-monthly.
Asian music - Published by the Society for Asian Music, this journal includes articles on music in India to music in Japan. Published twice per year.
Choral Director - Articles and profiles on multiple aspects of choral direction, such as recruitment to fundraising. Published every other month.
Computer Music Journal - Published by MIT, this journal covers aspects of everything from electroacoustic composition to digital audio engineering. Published four times per year.
Current Musicology - This journal branches somewhat outside of traditional musicology to include music theory and ethnomusicology. Published twice per year.
Ethnomusicology - Published by the Society for Ethnomusicology (SEM), this is the leading journal covering world/traditional/folk music. Published three times per year.
Fontes Artes Musicae - Features articles on music research, librarianship, and musicology as published by the International Association of Music Libraries. Published quarterly. NOTE: This publication has a one (1) year embargo. Full text articles are not available for until one year after their publication.
International Journal of Music Education - This journal examines music education geared for an international audience. Published quarterly.
Journal of Jazz Studies - This open access journal is peer reviewed and published by Rutgers University. Published irregularly.
Journal of Music Theory - This is the primary journal of the Society for Music Theory (SMT). Published once per year. NOTE: This title carries a SIX (6) YEAR embargo. Full text of articles is not available for the last six year's worth of publications.
Journal of the American Musicological Society - This is the authoritative American journal on the study of music history. Published three times per year.
MEIEA Journal - This journal is a scholarly journal that covers topics in the music and entertainment industry as published by the Music and Entertainment Industry Educators Association. Published once per year.
Music and the Moving Image - The foremost scholarly journal on film music. Published three times per year. NOTE: This title carries a has expanded access through December 31, 2020 due to COVID. Embargoes will resume on January 1, 2021.
Music Educators Journal - This is the publication for the National Association for Music Education (NAFME), the preeminent professional organization for music educators. Published quarterly.
Notes - Although published by the Music Library Association, the journal includes articles on music history, book reviews, and the music trade. Published quarterly.
Opera Quarterly - A scholarly journal providing articles and reviews on all aspects of opera. Published quarterly.
Philosophy of Music Education Review - Geared for an international audience, this journal covers philosophical and theoretical issues of music education. Published twice per year.
Tempo - This journal provides articles regarding modern music. Published quarterly.
Transposition - Published by the École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS) and the Cité de la musique-Philharmonie de Paris, this interdisciplinary journal looks at music and its impact in society and the social sciences. It is open-access and published irregularly.
