|
Contains online sources for European History including selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of primary source documents. |
||
| Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Rome |
From Fordham University, this site contains public-domain online texts and links to larger online collections. |
|
| Hanover Historical Texts Project |
Contains primary texts from ancient Greece and Europe to 20th century America. |
|
| The Avalon Project |
A project headed by Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library which contains digital documents related to Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from pre-18th Century to the present. |
|
|
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. |
||
| London Lives |
London Lives makes available, in a fully digitized and searchable form, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London. This resource includes over 240,000 manuscript and printed pages from eight London archives and is supplemented by fifteen data sets created by other projects. |
|
| The London Gazette |
Full text searchable from 1665-present. |
|
| Old Bailey Online | The Old Bailey Online contains accounts of the trials conducted at London's central criminal court between 1674 and 1913; and also the Ordinary's Accounts - detailed narratives of the lives and deaths of convicts executed at Tyburn, published between 1676 and 1772. | |
| Canadiana | Includes books, journals, newspapers, government documents, photographs, maps, post cards, sheet music, audio and video broadcasts on Canadian history. | |
| Peel's Praire Provinces | Peel's Prairie Provinces contains primary source materials about the history and development of Canada's prairie provinces from earliest times to mid twentieth century. | |
| African National Congress Historical Documents Archive | Includes material related to South Africa's national liberation movement. (Find primary source material under the documents tab). | |
| Perseus Digital Library | Maintained by Tufts University, this website contains primary and secondary sources in the humanities with a strong emphasis on ancient Greek materials. | |
|
Contains 400,000 rare documents, 660 hours of film, and 90,000 personal papers from 20 different European countries. |
||
| World War I Military Newspapers |
American Memory's digital collection "The Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I, 1918-1919" |
|
| World War I Document Archive |
Contains documents, images and other material related to World War I. |
|
| Imperial War Museum Collections Search |
Search over 600,000 items maintained by the Imperial War Museums, a family of five museums: IWM London; IWM North in Trafford, Greater Manchester; IWM Duxford near Cambridge; the Churchill War Rooms in Whitehall, London; and the historic ship HMS Belfast, moored in the Pool of London on the River Thames. |
|
|
Based at the University of Oxford, the Great War Archive contains over 6,500 items contributed by the general public between March and June 2008. Every item originates from, or relates to, someone's experience of the First World War. |
||
| Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library |
Search the Elibrary for primary source documents created during Woodrow Wilson's presidential term, including material related to World War I. |
|
| A Summons to Comradeship: World War I and II Posters and Postcards |
Over 5,000 digitized posters from the World War I and World War II era. Website produced by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the University of Minnesota Libraries and the Minneapolis Public Library. |
|
| Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures | From American Memory's digital collections. | |
| World War I Photograph Albums and Postcards | From the NYPL Digital Gallary. The collection contains nearly 400 images reproducing two amateur albums of drawings and photographs by Americans serving in France; a series of German photographic postcards; and a French automaker's published album. | |
| Veteran's History Project | The Project collects first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War and Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts. | |
| World War I Posters | The Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division makes available online approximately 1,900 posters created between 1914 and 1920. Most relate directly to the war, but some German posters date from the post-war period and illustrate events such as the rise of Bolshevism and Communism, the 1919 General Assembly election and various plebiscites. |
|
A Summons to Comradeship: World War I and II Posters and Postcards |
Over 5,000 digitized posters from the World War I and World War II era. Website produced by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the University of Minnesota Libraries and the Minneapolis Public Library. |
|
| Imperial War Museum Collections Search |
Search over 600,000 items maintained by the Imperial War Museums, a family of five museums: IWM London; IWM North in Trafford, Greater Manchester; IWM Duxford near Cambridge; the Churchill War Rooms in Whitehall, London; and the historic ship HMS Belfast, moored in the Pool of London on the River Thames. |
|
| Harry S. Truman Library and Museum: Online Documents |
Primary source documents organized into the following subject areas: Berlin Airlift, Cold War, Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb, Desegregation of the Armed Forces, Eleanor Roosevelt & Harry Truman, Election Campaign of 1948, Herbert Hoover & Harry Truman, Korean War, Japanese-Americans During WWII, Marshall Plan, NATO, Nuremberg and Tokyo War Crimes Trials, Truman Doctrine, Truman's Farewell Address, January 15, 1953, Recognition of the State of Israel, United Nations and World War I. |
|
|
Southern Methodist University containing 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War. |
||
| Veteran's History Project |
The Project collects first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War and Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts. |
|
| Densho Digital Repository |
The Densho Digital Repository contains historic photographs, documents, newspaper articles, letters and other primary sources documenting Japanese-American life before, during and after World War II. Pre-war photographs focus on immigration to the United States and aspects of Japanese-American life, while WWII-era materials center on what life was like in various internment camps throughout the (mostly) Western United States and post-WWII collections focus on the late 20th century (1990s onward) pictures of Japanese Americans attending reunions, visiting internment camp historic sites or giving interviews of their experiences in the camps during the war. |
| Voices of the Holocaust |
The Paul V. Galvin Library, Illinois Institute of Technology digital archive of digitized, restored, transcribed, and translated interviews with Holocaust survivors conducted by Dr. David P. Boder in 1946. |
| United States Holocaust Museum |
Includes the Holocaust Encyclopedia (full text). Also look under "Research" section (left menu) for documents, articles, and collections. |
| Remember.org |
Remember.org offers contributors (survivors, liberators, historians, and teachers )a place to connect and sharethe best research resources and stories through art, photography, painting, audio/video, and remembrance |