It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for students and others interested in the US Department of Homeland Security
Use the Library's databases to locate scholarly, peer-reviewed and other reliable sources.
Homeland Security Digital LibraryThe Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.
GPO (FirstSearch)Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.
Contact me if you find an article or document abstract but are not sure on the steps to locate it or how to request it from another library. Note that not everything is requestable.
This site is freely available through the U.S. government. Many, many statistics and other useful information. Some articles and books are available for a fee -- be sure to check with the library before purchasing.
We Search will provide results from over 50 databases at once.