It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary from accounts to Zola, Irving, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring numerous entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism. Most entries incorporate references for further reading and a cross-referencing system enables easy access to related areas. This Dictionary is an invaluable reference work for students and academics alike and will help to define the field of sociology in years to come.
Written by three eminent professors, the Penguin Dictionary of Sociology has been updated to reflect the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years, making it the most comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date dictionary available. It is essential reading for all students and teachers of sociology and other related courses - and also the general reader.
Although openness and inclusion are cornerstones of life in the United States, intolerance and reactionary politics are also very real. As the nation prepares to elect a new president, The Culture Wars addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy.
Featuring hundreds of A-Z entries and numerous photos, the encyclopedia examines the history and relevance of the issues, events, controversies, personalities, groups, and concepts that have contributed to the political and social polarization of American society over recent decades. It details hot-button topics as well as the role of the media in defining and shaping these issues--everything from abortion, the Christian Coalition, the environmental movement, feminism, and gay rights, to illegal aliens, pornography, stem-cell research, Watergate, and zero tolerance.
This new edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology provides a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes substantial entries, short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and glossary items.
The new entries reflect major changes in anthropology in the past decade: subdisciplines like medical anthropology have become more central to mainstream work in the discipline; recent work includes issues of gender and sexuality, and anthropology’s new ethnographic engagement with the central institutions of modernity like finance and science. Anthropology is now an unequivocally global discipline, so the second edition explores other traditions of anthropological work (Japanese anthropology, Latin American anthropology) as well as the processes of globalization itself.
Authoritative entries have been commissioned from among the world’s leading anthropologists. Alphabetically organized, the main entries contain clear, concise and provocative explanations of key anthropological themes and ideas, as well as surveys of the most important ethnographic regions and regional traditions of ethnographic research. Each major entry contains cross-references and a list of further reading.