This is the "Home" page of the "Library Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Collections  

Description of various Library collections in all formats. (created Jan, 2010) Guide author: Thom Zantow and Circulation Staff
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://librarysubjectguides.svsu.edu/Collections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Facts & Links

Quick Facts

  • The Circulation Desk is located at the 1st floor entrance of Zahnow 
  • 50: the number of Library materials faculty, staff and students may check out
  • 50: the number of Library materials visitors and almuni may check out
  • Unless otherwise noted, all of our collections use Library of Congress call #'s
  • Popular Reading books are shelved by author
  • Children's Non-Fiction books use Dewey Decimal call #'s with a YN prefix
  • Other Children's books use a local system based on reading level, etc.
  • ESL books use a local system based on reading level

Quick Links

 

Overview

The different tabs on this page present descriptions and check out policies for the specific collections in the Library.  A brief overview follows to get started.

  • Floor by floor
    • 1st floor (books, magazines, and media)
      • Reference, magazines, newspapers, videos, CDs, cassette tapes, phonograph records, Audio Books, Archives, and Reserve collections
      • 2nd floor (magazines, etc.)
        • Periodicals, Microfilm, and ERIC Document collections
      • 3rd floor (books and audiobooks)
        • General collection (HM through Z), Popular Reading, and Cafe collections
      • 4th floor (books)
        • General collection (A through HJ) and Children's Literature
    • By collection
      • Books
        • Archives (rare and valuable books) 1st floor
        • Audiobooks (unabridged, CD format) 1st floor
        • Cafe collection (donated popular paperbacks) 3rd floor
        • Childrens' books (picture books up to YA literature) 4th floor
        • General collection (our regular book collection) 3rd and 4th floors
        • Popular reading collection (recreational reading) 3rd floor
        • Reference collection (scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, source materials) 1st floor
      • Journals and Microforms
        • ERIC Documents (microfiche format, indexed in ERIC database) 2nd floor
        • Microfilm books (usually government documents) 2nd floor
        • Microfilm journals (including magazines and newspapers) 2nd floor
        • Print journals (including magazines and newspapers) 1st and 2nd floors
      • Media
        • Cassette tapes (mostly spoken word, some music) 1st floor
        • DVDs and Videocassettes (interfiled formats, feature, foreign, and educational) 1st floor
        • LP phonograph records (mostly music, some spoken word) 1st floor
        • Music and audio CDs (mostly music, some spoken word) 1st floor
      • Sheet Music and Scores (3rd floor)
      • Disability Services
        • Amigos, phonic ears, etc. (1st floor)
     

    Checkout and renewal policies

    Collection Students Faculty/Staff Alumni/Visitors

    Books and other print resources

    Link to information about fines

    • General Collection (3rd & 4th floors)
    • Children's Literature (4th floor)
    • Music scores and sheet music (3rd floor)
    • Three week check out
    • Two 3 week renewals permitted
    • Three month check out
    • One 3 month renewal
    • Three week check out
    • Two 3 week renewals permitted
    • Popular Reading (3rd floor)
    • Three week check out
    • No renewals
    • Three week check out
    • No renewals
    • Three week check out
    • No renewals
    •  Cafe paperback collection (3rd floor)
    • Just take and return when finished
    • Just take and return when finished
    • Just take and return when finished
    • Reference Collection (1st floor)
    • Archives/Special Collections/Rare Books (1st floor)
    • Materials are in-Library use only
    • Materials are in-Library use only
    • Materials are in-Library use only
    • Maps (1st floor)
    • 1 week check out
    • No renewals
    • Billed at one day past due
    • 2 week check out
    • No renewals
    • Billed at one week past due
      • Materials are in-Library use only
        Periodicals (Print and microform formats) (1st and 2nd floors)
        • Journals
        • Magzines
        • Newspapers
        • ERIC Documents
        • Materials are in-library use only
        • Materials are in-library use only
        • Materials are in-library use only
        Media (1st floor)
        • Music and Audio CDs
        • Music and Audio Cassette Tapes
        • 3 week check out
        • No renewals
        • 3 week check out
        • No renewals
        • 3 week check out
        • No renewals
        • Feature and Foreign VHS and DVDs
        • Non-fiction VHS and DVDs
        • LP and Phonograph Materials
        • 1 week check out
        • No renewals

         

        • 2 week check out
        • No renewals

         

        • Feature and Foreign Film check out only: non-fiction video recordings may not be checked out
        • 1 week check out
        • No renewals

         

        Notebook Computers and Special Needs Equipment
        • Notebook Computer
        • 7 day check out
        • No renewals
        • Billed at one day past due
        • Not available
        • Not available
        • Amigos
        • Phonic Ear
        • Same day use only
        • Same day use only
        • Same day use only
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip