Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Collections: Home

Description of various Library collections in all formats. (created Jan, 2010) Guide author: Thom Zantow and Circulation Staff

Quick Facts & Links

Quick Facts

  • The Circulation Desk is located at the 1st floor entrance of Zahnow 
  • 70: the number of Library materials faculty, staff and students may check out
  • 50: the number of Library materials visitors and almuni may check out
  • Unless otherwise noted, all of our collections use Library of Congress call #'s
  • Popular Reading books are shelved by author
  • Children's Non-Fiction books use Dewey Decimal call #'s with a YN prefix
  • Other Children's books use a local system based on reading level, etc.
  • ESL books use a local system based on reading level

Quick Links

Overview

The different tabs on this page present descriptions and check out policies for the specific collections in the Library.  A brief overview follows to get started.

  • Floor by floor
    • 1st floor (books, reserves, etc.)
      • Reference, Archives, and Reserve collection
    • 3rd floor (books, media, magazines, etc.)
      • General collection (L through Z), videos, CDs, magazines, newspapers, Children's Literature, and Popular Reading
    • 4th floor (books)
      • General collection (A through K) 
  • By collection
    • Books
      • Archives (rare and valuable books) 1st floor
      • Childrens' books (picture books up to YA literature) 3rd floor
      • General collection (our regular book collection) 3rd and 4th floors
      • Popular reading collection (recreational reading) 3rd floor
      • Reference collection (scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries, source materials) 1st floor
    • Journals 
      • Print journals (including magazines and newspapers) 3rd floor
    • Media
      • DVDs (feature, foreign and educational) 3rd floor
      • Music and audio CDs (mostly music, some spoken word) 3rd floor
    • Sheet Music and Scores (3rd floor)
    • Disability Services
      • Amigos, phonic ears, etc. (1st floor)

Checkout and renewal policies

Collection Students Faculty/Staff Alumni/Visitors

Books and other print resources

Link to information about fines

  • General Collection (3rd & 4th floors)
  • Children's Literature (3rd floor)
  • Music scores and sheet music (3rd floor)
  • Three week check out
  • Two 3 week renewals permitted
  • Three month check out
  • One 3 month renewal
  • Three week check out
  • Two 3 week renewals permitted
  • Popular Reading (3rd floor)
  • Three week check out
  • One 3 week renewal permitted
  • Three week check out
  • One 3 week renewal permitted
  • Three week check out
  • One 3 week renewal permitted
  • Reference Collection (1st floor)
  • Archives/Special Collections/Rare Books (1st floor)
  • Materials are in-Library use only
  • Materials are in-Library use only
  • Materials are in-Library use only
  • Maps (1st floor Archives Viewing Room)
  • 1 week check out
  • No renewals
  • Billed at one day past due
  • 2 week check out
  • No renewals
  • Billed at one week past due
  • Materials are in-Library use only
Periodicals (3rd floor)
  • Journals
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Materials are in-library use only
  • Microfilm is on demand: See Circulation Desk
  • Materials are in-library use only
  • Microfilm is on demand: See Circulation Desk
  • Materials are in-library use only
  • Microfilm is on demand: See Circulation Desk
Media (3rd floor)
  • Music and Audio CDs
  • 3 week check out
  • One 3 week renewal permitted
  • 3 week check out
  • One 3 week renewal permitted
  • 3 week check out
  • One 3 week renewal permitted
  • Feature and Foreign DVDs
  • Non-fiction DVDs
  • 1 week check out
  • One 1 week renewal permitted

 

  • 2 week check out
  • One 2 week renewal permitted

 

  • Feature and Foreign Film check out only: non-fiction video recordings may not be checked out
  • 1 week check out
  • One 1 week check out permitted

 

Notebook Computers and Special Needs Equipment
  • Notebook Computer
  • Same day use only
  • Not available
  • Not available
  • Amigos
  • Phonic Ear
  • Same day use only
  • Same day use only
  • Same day use only