LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): U.S. Government

U.S. Government Resources

The collections below are resources published by various agencies within the U.S. Government. As a general rule, works created by government employees in the United States as part of their employment are considered to be in the public domain. However, you should always verify the copyright status of any items you wish to use.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides a variety of interactive data options that researchers can manipulate for their individual needs. The data is public domain.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
The Bureau of Labor Statistics, part of the U.S. Department of Labor, provides data on a wide array of topics - including employment, spending and time use, workplace injuries, etc. The data is in the public domain.
Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau has provides public access to demographic and economic data.
Congressional Budget Office
The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides public information regarding the budget of the U.S. Congress, including estimates of the cost of federal credit programs, and information on how changes in economic conditions affect the federal budget. The information provided by CBO is in the public domain.
Data.gov
Data.gov is an online hub for the U.S. government's open data, containing more than 285,000 datasets. Any data originating from the U.S. government is in the public domain.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulation
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (E-CFR) is an electronic version of the code of federal regulations, published by the Government Publishing Office, updated daily.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides economic data related to a wide array of economic issues. Copyright and permissions for the data depends on the independent resource, though all are free to access.
Govinfo
GovInfo is a service provided by the U.S. Government Publishing Office, which provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government.
IIP Publications
IIP Publications is a site managed by the Bureau of International Information Programs of the U.S. State Department. It contains texts on a wide variety of topics related to both the United States and international issues.
National Archives
The United States National Archives acts as the nation's record keeper, keeping important legal or historical documents and materials for preservation. Most of the documents and images contained within the archive, unless otherwise noted, are in the public domain.
Office of Trade Policy and Analysis
The Office of Trade Policy and Analysis (TP&A), as part of the International Trade Administration, produces economic data on the trade policy priorities of the federal government.