LibGuides: Alumni and Visitors @ Zahnow Library: Find Articles-Alumni

Alumni Access to Subscription Databases

The following subscription (fee based access) databases are complimentarily provided by the SVSU Alumni Association and the SVSU Zahnow Library. Alumni will need to enter their name and ID number to login to these databases (JSTOR, SAGE, Project Muse) to access articles from over 10,000 scholarly journals.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Alumni access is provided by the SVSU Alumni Association. It is a multi subject database offering full text articles covering many topics. A large amount of scholarly journals are from the business and economics, history, science and mathematics, language and literature and social science disciplines. JSTOR Alumni access provides access to over 9,000 scholarly journals. Please see the contact box on the right for access and search assistance.
SVSU subscribes to Arts & Sciences 1, 2. 3 and 5 only. Other articles and books can be requested through Tipasa.

Library Alumni Subscription Databases

SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage alumni access is provided by the Zahnow Library. It offers full text scholarly journal articles from multiple disciplines. These disciplines include the social sciences, humanities, health, life and biomedical sciences, and engineering and physical sciences.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse alumni access is provided by the Zahnow Library. This is a database that covers multiple topics with an emphasis on the humanities.

Search MeL Databases (about MeL databases)

access requires Michigan Driver's License or State ID number or local library card

Michigan Electronic Library (MeL) Databases

Web Databases offering Full Text Resources

ERIC (Internet) This link opens in a new window
From ED.gov (some full text)
How Research Becomes an ERIC Record: https://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

Free Medical Journals

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Academic & scholarly resources. Some full text
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Search for resources from the Ecology field. (some full text)

JURN
Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses
Medknow
Nursing and Health Journals (Open Access)
Nursing Open

PLoS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Articles with a focus on the sciences. Freely available to all.

PubMed Free Full Text
Search the articles offered online from PubMed
more...less...
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Science Direct Open Access (Some Free Full Text Available)
Springer Open (Peer Reviewed Research)
Full Text Peer Reviewed Journals (all disciplines)
more...less...
SpringerOpen, launched in June 2010, includes Springer’s portfolio of 160+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.

In August 2012, due to the growing demand for open access and the success of our SpringerOpen journals, we expanded our offering to open access books. Published under the SpringerOpen brand they complement our established open access journal portfolio.
Teacher Reference
Index to resources covering many education topics
more...less...
This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
Wiley Open Access Journals

JSTOR Alumni Access Help

Request form for access to Alumni JSTOR

Please contact the Alumni office with questions regarding access to the JSTOR Alumni access database and

obtaining your alumni ID number.
Wickes Hall 160/ 989-964-4214

Please contact Scott Mellendorf with questions regarding searching the JSTOR Alumni access database.

Scott Mellendorf
Head of Research Services, Zahnow Library
Zahnow 108/ 989.964.7052
mel@svsu.edu

How to Access JSTOR Alumni

How to access Alumni JSTOR

SAGE and Project Muse Alumni Access Help

Please contact Scott Mellendorf, Head of Research Services at the Melvin J. Zahnow Library with any access issues to the Sage Publishing and Project Muse subscription databases.

mel@svsu.edu

989.964.7052