Go to http://www.svsu.edu/library
On the left side of the page, click on RESEARCH then select DATABASES or click on DATABASES below the search box on the library's homepage..
NOTE: After you click on DATABASES, look at the top left for the the box saying ALL SUBJECTS. Select a subject from the drop down arrow, that best fits your subject. You might select HISTORY or LITERATURE. There are 28 HISTORY databases and 19 LITERATURE databases available for your use. The BEST BETS are in the YELLOW BOX:: JSTOR and America: History & Life are two great HISTORY databases. Search both databases using your SEARCH STRATEGY to retrieve full text scholarly/academic articles or to request articles from interlibrary loan.
Other databases you may want to try:
JSTOR-limit to ARTICLES, ENGLISH (language)
America: History and Life--you may want to limit to FULL TEXT or use Tipasa in this database. Consider the date of your event. You may need to limit to the time period of your event.
CREDO REFERENCE--get an encyclopedia overview with links and options to keywords and subjects
ProQuest--limit to scholarly journals
ProQuest Research Library-limit to scholarly journals
CQ Researcher-research reports on current issues, includes pro/con debate on a research question
Opposing Viewpoints-pro/con on current issues
Social Sciences Full Text-Sociology database
Communication & Mass Media Complete-communication database
African American Experience-contains critical aspects on current & historical issues affecting the African-American experience
African American Studies Center-reference works on African-American lives and culture
New York Times-newspapers (current information)
NewsBank-newspapers from around the world (current information)
Contact me (Kathleen Kroll) if you need help determining which database to use and if you need help searching a database.
