Copyright and Licensing Information for Library Resources

Open access - Users may "copy, distribute, use, modify, transform, build upon, and produce derived works" of the data. Best practice remains to credit where the information was first presented.

Use in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas. 

Uses for Interlibrary Loan: Users may provide the content for interlibrary loan with an accompanying citation. 

Each item in an exhibition carries its own rights statement. Click on "view information" and scroll to the bottom the see the allowances for each item. Most content is governed by a CC BY license. 

Uses in Canvas: Each item will need to be checked for the allowances. For questions, please email Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services. 

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each items will need to be checked for the allowances. For questions, please email Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services. 

Users may not reverse engineer the site, provide access to unauthorized users, modify or adapt any content, and make derivative works of the content. 

Users may display, download, and print copies of the content for educational purposes only. Users may engage in text mining/data mining activities with the content. 

Use in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas.

Use with Interlibrary Loan: This practice is prohibited.  

Most federal government-produced information is in the public domain per U.S. Copyright Law. However, some content can remain under copyright. 

Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Use in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas.

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

The entire site is governed by a CC BY 4.0 license. Users may copy, redistribute, remix, transform, and build upon the material on the site so long as users give the appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if (and if so, what) changes were made to the content. 

Use in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas.

Uses for Interlibrary Loan: Users may provide the content for interlibrary loan with an accompanying citation. 

Each journal within the Directory has its own license and rules. Each journal should be examined to see the specific permitted or prohibited uses.  For questions, please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services. 

Use in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas.

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each journal will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Users may download, print, or save single pages of content for the purposes of research, preservation of content, teaching, and or private study. 

Users may not systematically download the content or provide print copies of content for course packs. 

Uses in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas. 

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: A "limited amount" of content may be used with Interlibrary Loan. It must be via a secure network and cannot be stored. (Ebooks cannot be used with Interlibrary Loan.) Best practice is to follow CONTU standards. 

Database Name (As Found in the Databases List)

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users may download or create printouts of "a reasonable portion" of articles or other works represented in the product for personal use under Fair Use doctrine. 

Users may not publish, broadcast, sell, use, or provide access to unauthorized users. Users also may not engage in text or data mining activities, or use the content to build other products, such as tools or algorithms. 

Uses in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas. 

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: "Small portions" can be loaned so long as it does not supplant a subscription. Best practice is to limit to no more than 10%. 

Users may download or create printouts of "a reasonable portion" of articles or other works represented in the product for personal use under Fair Use doctrine. 

Users may not publish, broadcast, sell, use, or provide access to unauthorized users. Users also may not engage in text or data mining activities, or use the content to build other products, such as tools or algorithms. 

Uses in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas. 

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: "Small portions" can be loaned so long as it does not supplant a subscription. Best practice is to limit to no more than 10%. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Most government-produced information is in the public domain per U.S. Copyright Law. However, some content can remain under copyright. 

Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Use in Canvas: Users may use durable links in Canvas.

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

The site is to be used for the personal study of "students, scholars, and the public." Each article will have its own rights statement.

If no restrictions are listed, users can make copies of "select portion" of the content provided it is not altered in any way (including the removal of copyright/trademark notices). This content is for personal and non-commercial use only. 

Uses in Canvas: Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Copyright is held by the authors and publishers of the content. Users can interact with the content of ERIC as provided for under fair use laws, but any other use requires permission from the copyright holder. Find out more about fair use here.

Uses in Canvas: Users may use a durable link in Canvas. 

Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined for a rights statement. 

Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use.  

Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.)

Use for Interlibrary Loan:: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. 

Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. 

All other uses are prohibited. 

Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. 

All other uses are prohibited.