| Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) | Database Vendor | License (For Library Reference Only) | Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) | Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| MasterFILE Complete | MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for ILL: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Math SciNet | American Mathematical Society | American Mathematical Society Terms | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may make one or more hard copies of the output of any search solely for their own personal use. These cannot be sold or distributed to any third party. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Use with Interlibrary Loan is prohibited. |
| MEDLINE (FirstSearch) | OCLC | First Search Articles First OCLC | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may search and view the content for personal and scholarly activity. Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. All other uses are prohibited. |
| MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) | MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Met Opera on Demand | The Metropolitan Opera | Met Opera License_2015 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may view the content for private, non-commercial study. Users may not reproduce or display the content for commercial purposes. Users may not download, record, print, make reproductions or derivative works from the content. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. |
| Met Publications Online | The Metropolitan Museum of Art | Met Museum Terms | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Content identified as open access is available for any purpose, both commercial or non-commercial. The content has been made available under a CC 0 license. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. Best practice is to follow CONTU guidelines. |
| Michigan Authors and Illustrators | Library of Michigan | No license | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Some of the information provided by the site involves personal information (such as email addresses, and the personal addresses of authors and illustrators). It is best practice to not share this information. |
| Michigan Compiled Laws | Michigan State Legislature | MCL Terms | Open to all users |
Users may link (only) to the MCL pages. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. |
| Michigan County Histories | University of Michigan Libraries | No license - items were published pre-1929 (public domain) | Public Domain |
Content is intended for educational and research purposes. Metadata should be credited to the University of Michigan. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. |
| Michigan Courts - Cases, Orders, Opinions | Michigan Supreme Court | MSC Terms | Open to all users |
Bulk data downloads and commercial uses are prohibited. Users may link to sites within the Michigan Courts site. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. |
| Michigan Digital Newspaper Portal | Clarke Historical Library (CMU) and the Library of Congress | No license | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Some content is behind a paywall. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link in Canvas. |
| MLA Directory of Periodicals | Ebsco | Ebsco License_2023 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| MLA International Bibliography | MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| My Heritage Library Edition | MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) | Database Vendor | License (For Library Reference Only) |
Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) |
Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| NAACP Papers | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse | Children's Bureau (Part of the US Dept of HHS) | US Govt site - No license | Public Domain |
Most information produced by the federal government is in the public domain. However, items like photographs appearing in the information may be still under copyright. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: This content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. |
| Naxos Music Library | Naxos of America / MCLS | Naxos_License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can search and listen to all available albums. Users cannot download, copy, restream or reproduce the content. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to content in Canvas. |
| NCJRS Abstracts (ProQuest) | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| NCJRS Abstracts (US Govt) | US Dept of Justice | US Govt Website | Public Domain |
Most information produced by the federal government is in the public domain. However, items like photographs appearing in the information may be still under copyright. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: This content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. |
| New York Times | New York Times/MCLS | NY Terms 2024 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may use the content for personal, non-commercial use. Copying or downloading for non-personal reasons is prohibited. Users may not modify, publish, transmit, reproduce, create new works from, or distribute the content. Users may not use the content for the development of any new software program or generative AI program. Users cannot perform text or data mining activities. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Use of the content with Interlibrary Loan is prohibited. |
| New York Times Historical | New York Times/ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| Newspaper Source Plus | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Nursing and Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) |
Database Vendor |
License (For Library Reference Only) | Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) | Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| OAIster | OCLC | First Search Articles First | Currently enrolled students, current faculty and staff, and on-site guests. Alumni access is not permitted. |
Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. All other uses are prohibited. |
| Obituary Index (Public Libraries of Saginaw) | Public Libraries of Saginaw | No license | Open Access |
This is an index that provides information found in the obituary. However, there are no full-text obituaries in this index. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. |
| OmniFile Full Text Select | Ebsco | Ebsco License_2023 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Open Dissertations (Ebsco) | Ebsco | Ebsco License_2023 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Open Library | Internet Archive | No license | Open to all users |
This initiative from the Internet Archive links to some full-text ebooks provided they are available. It also includes bibliographic data on many ebooks. Controlled digital lending only allows one user to read an ebook at a time. |
| Open Society Justice Initiative | HeinOnline | HeinOnline Terms | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link for use in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. Best practice is to follow CONTU guidelines. |
| OurEnergyLibrary - Resource Library | Our Energy Library | Our Energy Library Terms | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
The content is available for users' personal, non-commercial use. Users cannot engage in datamining, or reproduce, duplicate, or copy the content. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link for use in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Each publisher must be checked. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with any questions. |
| Ovid Nursing Database | Wolters Kluwer | Ovid License | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may use the content for "internal or personal research or training therein." Users may view the content, print the content, and make limited copies of the content. Users may not prepare derivative works, reverse engineer, or include in course packs. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link for use in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. Best practice is to follow CONTU guidelines. |
| Oxford English Dictionary | Oxford University Press | Oxford UP License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may access the content for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may not systematically print the content, distribute any of the content on an unsecure network, or permit use by an unauthorized user. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link for use in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Use of the content with Interlibrary Loan is prohibited. |
| Oxford Music Online | Oxford University Press | Oxford UP License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may access the content for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study. Users may not systematically print the content, distribute any of the content on an unsecure network, or permit use by an unauthorized user. Uses in Canvas: Users may include a durable link for use in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Use of the content with Interlibrary Loan is prohibited. |
