|
Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) |
Database Vendor |
License (For Library Reference Only) |
Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) |
Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| Papers First | OCLC | First Search Articles First | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may search and view the content for personal and scholarly activity. Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. All other uses are prohibited. |
| Patient Education Reference Center | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Philosopher's Index | ProQuest / MCLS | ProQuest Database License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| Physical Education Index |
ProQuest / MCLS |
ProQuest Database License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| Public Library of Science (PLoS) | Public Library of Science | PLOS Terms | Open Access |
The content is registered under Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) or Creative Commons 1.0 Universal (CCO) license. Best practice is to site the source, even if not required (as in the CCO license). Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. Best practice is to follow CONTU guidelines. |
| Poetry & Short Story Reference Source | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Points of View Reference Source | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Political Science Complete | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| Proceedings | OCLC | First Search Articles First | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users may search and view the content for personal and scholarly activity. Users may only be copied to assist in attorney-client privilege (or a similar relationship) or for determining materials to be ordered for ILL for non-commercial use only. All other uses are prohibited. |
| Professional Development Complete | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Project Gutenberg | Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation | PG Terms | Mostly open access |
Most of the ebooks are in the public domain or have been provided to Project Gutenberg for free distribution. On the landing page for each individual ebook is a notice on the copyright status (near the bottom of the page). Each ebook will need to be checked to verify the copyright status is public domain. Project Gutenberg does retain the copyright to its metadata, logo, and name, so to reuse, modify, or share the content without violating Project Gutenberg's copyright means the copyright material will need to be removed. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan. Best practice is to follow CONTU guidelines. |
| Project MUSE | Johns Hopkins University Press | Project Muse Standard Collection_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Users may engage with the content for personal education and research use. Use of the content for commercial means is prohibited. Users may download and print one copy of a journal article for personal use and archive its contents on their personal computers. Users can share one copy of an article to another user provided that user is an authorized user and it will be for personal use. Users may not systematically download content. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Content can be used with Interlibrary Loan if CONTU guidelines are followed. |
| Project MUSE Ebooks | Johns Hopkins University Press | Project Muse Standard Collection_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Users may engage with the content for personal education and research use. Use of the content for commercial means is prohibited. Users may "download and print one copy of each ebook chapter" for personal use and archive its contents on their personal computers. Users can share one copy of a single ebook chapter to another user provided that user is an authorized user and it will be for personal use. Users may not systematically download content. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: One ebook chapter can be used with Interlibrary Loan if CONTU guidelines are followed. If the borrowing institution asks for more than one chapter of an ebook, the request must be denied. |
| Project MUSE Open Access Content | Johns Hopkins University Press | No license | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
Each title has its own license (most are Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0). Each title will need to be checked to see what the license allows. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined to see the license allowances. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services, with any questions. |
| ProQuest | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| ProQuest One Business | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| ProQuest Research Library | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| ProQuest Science & Technology Subject Area | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| PsycARTICLES | ProQuest / MCLS | ProQuest Database License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection | Ebsco / MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Psychology Database | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| PsycINFO | ProQuest / MCLS | ProQuest Database License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| PsycTESTS | ProQuest / MCLS | ProQuest Database License_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| PTSD Pubs | ProQuest | ProQuest_NonMCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Authorized users may display and use "reasonable" portions of information contained in the database for education or research purposes including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis. Authorized users may also download or create printouts of a "reasonable portion" of articles for personal or internal use under fair use doctrine. Otherwise, all downloading, printing, or storage of database content must be directly from the database. Users may not remove any copyright or proprietary notices from ProQuest content. Users cannot try to circumvent any limitation or protection device contained in ProQuest. Users cannot text mine, data mine, or harvest metadata from ProQuest. Users cannot systematically download from ProQuest. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Interlibrary Loan: Digital copies may be provided to other institutions if done in a manner not replacing a subscription. If the requested item is ebook, only a "small portion" may be provided. |
| PubCHEM | National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine | PubChem | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
The content comes from a variety of sources. If the content comes from a federal government source, it is in the public domain, but the National Library of Medicine requires attribution (i.e. Source: National Library of Medicine). If the content is provided via a non-government entity, the author/entity retains copyright. Activity outside of fair use of copyrighted material requires permission from the copyright holder. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined to see the license allowances. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services, with any questions. |
| PubMed Central | National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine | PubMed Copyright Notice | All users |
Content in PubMed is provided by various publishers, who all have their own copyright policies. Each article has a "copyright and license information" under the listing of author(s) names. Each article would need to be checked for the copyright and license information. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined to see the license allowances. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services, with any questions. |
| PubMed@Zahnow | National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine | PubMed Copyright Notice | All users |
Content in PubMed is provided by various publishers, who all have their own copyright policies. Each article has a "copyright and license information" under the listing of author(s) names. Each article would need to be checked for the copyright and license information. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined to see the license allowances. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services, with any questions. |
| PubSpace | National Institutes of Health / National Library of Medicine | PubSpace | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. |
The content comes from a variety of sources. If the content comes from a government source, it is in the public domain, but the National Library of Medicine requires attribution (i.e. Source: National Library of Medicine). If the content is provided via a non-government entity, the author/entity retains copyright. Activity outside of fair use of copyrighted material requires permission from the copyright holder. Uses in Canvas: Users may include durable links to articles in Canvas. Uses with Interlibrary Loan: Each item will need to be examined to see the license allowances. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services, with any questions. |
| Database Name (As Found in the Databases List) | Database Vendor | License (For Library Reference Only) | Authorized Users (As named in each contract - If not named, access is not permitted) | Allowances or exclusions (as specified in each contract) |
| Readers Guide Full Text Mega | Ebsco | Ebsco License_2023 | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Referencia Latina | Ebsco/MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| Regional Business News | Ebsco/MCLS | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
| RILM Abstracts of Music Literature | Ebsco | Ebsco_MCLS | SVSU students, faculty, and staff. Alumni use is prohibited. |
Users can print and download limited copies of citations, abstracts, full text or portions thereof for personal use. Use in Canvas: Silent. Ebsco allows each publisher to make this determination. Please contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. (If the publisher is silent, fair use rules apply.) Use for Interlibrary Loan: Silent. Contact Heather Fisher, the Head of Access Services with the citation to get more information on what is allowed by the individual publisher. |
