The collection development philosophy of SVSU's Melvin J. Zahnow Library is to build an up-to-date, responsible and flexible collection that meets the needs of the curriculum of SVSU and follows the library's mission statement*.
Please remember there are several factors involved when selecting material for the library. For further details please refer to the library's collection development policy.
Library Collection Development is the process of planning, building and analyzing an entire collection and involves:
* Library's Mission Statement (2016), "The Melvin J. Zahnow Library supports the SVSU mission by promoting knowledge advancement for further intellectual and personal growth."
Anita Dey - Library Director
Zahnow 425A - 989.964.4236 - firstname.lastname@example.org
Matthew Buckley - Research & Collection Development Librarian
Zahnow 435 - 989.964.2844 - email@example.com
Periodicals staff acquire, manage, and provide timely and accurate access to periodicals in all formats. Periodicals (also referred to as serials) are materials published and received on a continuing basis; they include journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, microforms, databases, and electronic journals.
The Zahnow Library has an electronic resources librarian who helps manage the library's electronic resources (aka. online databases). The Zahnow Library has over 100 online databases. The vast majority of the library's periodical content is currently either subscribed to or purchased in a variety of different library databases. (For example, the library's ProQuest subscription contains access to over 13,000 publications.)
To make a database or journal recommendation please either contact your library liaison or use our online suggestion form.
Beth Johns - E-Resources Librarian
Zahnow 437 - 989.964.2158 - firstname.lastname@example.org
Gloria J. Turner - Periodicals Assistant/Office Coordinator
Zahnow 440 - 989.964.4241 - email@example.com
Library selects, orders and receives materials in a variety of ways including through online subscriptions, online and print purchases and through donations. The library obtains materials either directly from the publishers or through other vendors or suppliers. Acquisitions staff work closely with library liaisons, publishers, suppliers, and University purchasing and receiving to ensure timely and accurate delivery of materials regardless of type, format, and language.
Tim Rex - Acquisitions Assistant
Zahnow 425 - 989.964.4245 - firstname.lastname@example.org
Cataloging involves following widely-used library standards to create, modify and occasional remove electronic records so SVSU users can find our resources using an online catalog. Almost all library materials are cataloged from books, journals and ebooks to music sheets and more. Cataloging staff work closely with their colleagues in Reference and Access services to provide searchable access in a timely manner. Cataloging at the Zahnow Library also involves the processing of physical materials as well.
Heather Fisher - Metadata & Catalog Librarian
Zahnow 438 - 989.964.7053 - email@example.com
Heather Hillaker - Cataloging Assistant
Zahnow 440 - 989.964.4247 - firstname.lastname@example.org