Listed below are links to websites you might find useful for your research. If you find a link is no longer working, please let me know.
OWL Citation Guide - A wesbite that helps give a short summary and guide on citations.
Musictheory.net - A website that has practice lessons and tutorials on basic music theory topics. Under the "Tools" menu is a very convenient staff paper generator.
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia - The Library of Congress has a fantastic music collection besides their great recordings. Take a look here for digitized sheet music, early films, and more!
Library of Congress National Jukebox - This is a digital platform to listen (for free!) to historical recordings in the collections of the Library of Congress. This includes early phonographs. You can even hear John Phillips Sousa conduct his own marches!
IMSLP - A database that provides creative commons licensed or public domain sheet music.
Mozart's complete works online - This is the digitized version of Mozart's complete works. NOTE: It is illegal to use any copies from this website for something other than personal study. (See Fair Use in the US Copyright Code.)
Sibley Music Library - Sibley is the Music Library to Eastman School of Music. They have an impressive online repository of public domain music.
Association for Cultural Equity - This organization, founded by Alan Lomax, now gives access to thousands of his ethnographic recordings!
Digital Public Library of America - A huge digital repository of library, museum, and archives items. The site is free to access.
Musical Instruments Museums Online - A fantastic resource to see collections of museums around the world! The site is free to access!
The Digital Library of the Irish Traditional Music Archive - The ITMA Digital Library offers digital resources such as photos and videos regarding traditional Irish (sometimes called Celtic) music.
The Levy Sheet Music Collection at Johns Hopkins University - Over 30,000 pieces are available for online access.
The Aaron Copland Collection at the Library of Congress - This digital collection of thousands of items is just a fraction of the full collection that resides at the Library of Congress.
African-American Band Music and Recordings, 1883-1923 - This collection highlights a long overlooked piece of American music history.
The Omaha Indian Music Collection at the Library of Congress - Hear the musical traditions of the Omaha Native American Tribe all the way back to cylinders recorded in the 1890s.
