Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater: SELECTED DATABASES

This guide will assist Theater students complete research in Zahnow Library.

CONTACT INFO:

Profile Photo
Scott Mellendorf
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
989.964.7052

FINDING DATABASES FROM THE LIBRARY'S HOMEPAGE

Go to http://www.svsu.edu/library

click on DATABASES, the link below the big search box (Search with Zahnow) on the library's homepage.

NOTE: the box saying ALL SUBJECTS.  Select a subject from the drop down arrow, that best fits your subject.  Select THEATER and/or ENGLISH.  The BEST BETS are in the YELLOW BOX.  Search a selection of databases using your SEARCH STRATEGY to retrieve full text scholarly/academic articles or to request articles from interlibrary loan. 

Some databases you may want to try:

 

For SCHOLARLY JOURNAL articles, try these THEATER/ENGLISH databases:

Digital Theatre Plus
Humanities Full Text
LION (Literature Online)-
-click on Criticism then enter author's name in search box. Select DRAMA from the ADVANCED SEARCH screen. (LION help pageshttps://proquest.libguides.com/lionpqp)
Literary Reference Center
Project Muse
JSTOR-limit to ARTICLES, ENGLISH (language)-you can also scroll down to SUBJECTS/DISCIPLINES and select PERFORMING ARTS to retrieve articles related to theater.
MLA International Bibliography-limit to ENGLISH and select JOURNAL ARTICLES from the SOURCE TYPE box (scroll down)
ProQuest: current information, can limit to newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journal articles

 

Additional Database