Special Collections are semi-unique materials that are mostly related to the state of Michigan and the Tri-county area. Some of the collections include the personal papers of Bay County Judge Ira Butterfield, local poet Alfred W. Ebeit, and Calvin Ennes, northern Michigan newspaper columnist.
Other Special Collections include:
The Beatrice Roethke Papers: This collection consists of donated correspondence, books, photographs, and audio materials related to Saginaw born pulitizer-prize winning poet, Theodore Roethke.
The Oral History Collection: This collection comprises one hundred and forty-two audio cassette tapes which detail the lives of local people from the 1920s through the 1960s.
The Michigan Historical Collection: This collection incorporates books, pamphlets and newspaper supplements detailing the history of various Michigan cities and counties.
The Ken Follett Papers: The papers arrived at Saginaw Valley State University in spring 2000 and detail the author’s creative process. Materials include his handwritten notes and early manuscripts. For more information see the Ken Follett Papers page.
The Flying Melzoras Collection: This collection gives viewers insight to the world of a Saginaw based circus performing family. The Thomas family (Melzer, Buster, Jane, Raymond, Bill, Ann) performed as the "The Flying Thomases" and "The Flying Melzoras" from the 1920's to the 1960's. A virtual exhibit (nearly 200 photos & images) represents a small portion of the collection but depicts many aspects of their lives devoted to the entertainment of others as circus performers.