Print Periodicals Collection

The term periodicals includes journals, magazines and newspapers, and collectively are referred to as serials (although some of these terms are interchangeable).

• Periodicals, as distinct from journals or magazines, may sometimes be cataloged as part of our book collections.
  • Finally, some periodicals are so unique that they are cataloged separately and scattered throughout our collection (e.g., Hortus Musicus).  These are often called "series."
  • Sometimes periodical issues have distinctive titles and subject focus for each issue (e.g., New Directions for Higher Education in our General Collection).  These issues are individually cataloged to provide the most accurate title and subject access, but are shelved together.
  • At the most basic level these are cataloged at the title level (e.g., The Supreme Court Reporter in  the Reference Collection).  These titles are sometimes called "open entry" titles.
  • Journals are scholarly publications.
    • Typically there are minimal advertisements, articles tend to be longer with references/bibliography, and the author of the article is prominently displayed. Magazines tend to be more popular than scholarly.
  • Magazines have more popular content.
    • Advertisements are more prominent, articles tend to be shorter, rarely with references, and sometimes without author attribution.

  • Newspapers focus on immediacy and often have a local focus.

​Online Journals - The majority of the library's periodicals are available online within the library's databases. Search for specific titles on the Journal Search page. 

The Periodicals Collection is shelved in distinct areas:

• Current Periodicals, including newspapers, are shelved on the 3rd floor of the library.
• Bound Periodicals, and back issues of newspapers, are shelved on the 3rd floor of the Library. 
• Microfilm titles are located on the 2nd floor. Please ask for assistance at the 1st or 2nd floor circulation desk in using microform.

Staff at the 1st and 2nd floor Circulation and Research Services Desks are available to assist with finding articles.