LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Biology

Open Resources for Biology

Textbooks
Simulations, Games, & Tools

These textbooks have been created for free use in courses. These resources may be adopted for use as classroom text, modified to create new texts (if licensing allows), or used as a supplemental learning tool to aid in understanding key concepts.

General Biology

Biology 2e by Mary Ann Clark; Jung Choi; Matthew Douglas
ISBN: 9781947172517

Publication Date: 2018

License: CC BY 4.0
Concepts of Biology by Samantha Fowler; Rebecca Roush; James Wise
ISBN: 9781947172036

Publication Date: 2013

License: CC BY 4.0
From Growing to Biology by Gokhan Hacisalihoglu
ISBN: 9781736577912

Publication Date: 2021

License: CC BY-NC-SA
From Growing to Biology: Plants 1e brings the latest information for understanding of traditional and modern plant growing, form, and production. Topics covered in 30 chapters include concise and up-to-date 'big picture' infographics, student learning outcomes (SLOs), key vocabulary, assessment, as well as identification of 120 species, and more.
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory by Arianna Cheveldave
Publication Date: 2020

License: CC BY 4.0
The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open.

Anatomy and Physiology

Anatomy and Physiology by J. Gordon Betts; Kelly A. Young; Peter Desaix; Eddie Johnson; Jody E. Johnson; Oksana Korol; Dean Kruse; Brandon Poe; James A. Wise; Mark Womble
ISBN: 9781951693428

Publication Date: 2022

License: CC BY 4.0
Anatomy and Physiology 2e is developed to meet the scope and sequence for a two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body systems.
Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professions by Andrea Nelson and Katherine Greene
Publication Date: 2021

License: CC BY 4.0
This book focuses on breaking down, pronouncing, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students.

Microbiology

Microbiology by Nina Parker; Mark Schneegurt; Anh-Hue Thi Tu; Brian M. Forster; Philip Lister
ISBN: 9781947172234

Publication Date: 2016

License: CC BY 4.0
This publication presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter.

Science Education Booklets

Free publications from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) for high school and college students on topics including cell biology, genetics, structural biology, and computational biology.

Inside the Cell by National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Public Domain
Inside the Cell is a science education booklet that explores the interior design of cells and vividly describes the processes that take place within its organelles and structures.
New Genetics by National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Public Domain
The New Genetics is a science education booklet that explains the role of genes in health and disease, the basics of DNA and its molecular cousin RNA, and new directions in genetic research.
Structures of Life by National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)
Public Domain
The Structures of Life is a science education booklet that reveals how structural biology provides insight into health and disease and is useful in developing new medications.

Below is a collection of tools and simulations designed to help supplement course materials.

General Biology

PhET Interactive Simulations
License: CC BY 4.0
These online, open simulations were created by the University of Colorado-Boulder to provide new fun, free, and interactive tools for students to use. All simulations have been tested and evaluated in real-world classrooms.
Wolfram Demonstrations Project
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
A collection of interactive visualizations of concepts in science, technology, mathematics, art, finance and more.

Anatomy and Physiology

eSkeletons
License: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
The University of Texas has created a collection of interactive, 3-D models of the skeletons of humans and a variety of other primate species.
Whole Brain Atlas
The Whole Brain Atlas is an extensive image library of brain scans, accompanied by associated commentary on the disorder(s) that have caused abnormalities. The authors have licensed the site under their own terms.

Ecology

Life Discovery Ed Digital Library - Ecological Society of America
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
The Life Discovery Digital Library is an online portal of biological education resources related to ecology. In it are resources in a variety of formats, including syllabi, labs, lectures, and articles.

Evolution

eFossils
License: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
eFossils is an interactive site from the University of Texas at Austin, and serves as a platform for the publication of data about fossils and archaeological sties.
eLucy
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
eLucy is an interactive site from the University of Texas at Austin. The purpose of the site is to help users learn about 'Lucy,' perhaps the world's most famous fossil of the early human ancestor Australophithecus afarensis. It includes anatomical renderings, student activities, and teacher lessons.

Genetics

Virtual Genetics Education Centre (VGEC)
VGEC is an online hub of teaching resources related to the subject of Genetics, created by the University of Leicester. Most of the content created by the University is under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-SA 2.0 UK: England and Wales License. Content from other sources is available under other terms.
Your Genome
Yourgenome.org is an open website of resources on genetics and genomics, produced by the Wellcome Genome Campus. Resources include educational videos, activities, simulations, and informative fact sheets. The site is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY 4.0 license.

Microbiology

American Society for Microbiology
License: Varies
The curriculum archive is a collection of peer-reviewed activities to aid in the teaching of undergraduate microbiology courses. They include both classroom and laboratory exercises.
Image Gallery - American Society for Microbiology
License: CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
The image gallery is a collection of images, videos, and animations that may be used as supplementary materials for microbiology courses.
Laboratory Protocols - American Society for Microbiology
License: Varies
These protocols are information briefs that discuss standard laboratory tests, including both the procedural steps for undertaking such tests and information regarding the purpose, history, and safety considerations that accompany them.

Disclaimer

The content provided in this guide is intended for informational purposes only. The Melvin J. Zahnow Library at SVSU does not make any assurances as to the accuracy of the information contained within linked resources, or as to the licenses and permissions granted for the use of these works. Always be certain to check the permissions for each resource before using the work.

Questions? Contact Tiler Jewell at tbjewell@svsu.edu.