LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Chemistry

Open Resources

These textbooks have been created for free use in courses. These resources may be adopted for use as classroom text, modified to create new texts (if licensing allows), or used as a supplemental learning tool to aid in understanding key concepts.

General Chemistry

Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W Ball, John W Hill, & Rhonda J Scott
Publication Date: 2011

License: CC BY-NC-SA
A reviewed textbook from the Saylor Foundation, intended to provide a general overview of biological concepts relating to general, organic, and biological chemistry.
Chemistry 2e by Paul Flowers; Klaus Theopold; Richard Langley; Edward J. Neth; William R. Robinson
ISBN: 9781947172623

Publication Date: 2019-02-14

License: CC BY 4.0
Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
Introductory Chemistry by David W. Ball
ISBN: 9781453311073

Publication Date: 2011

License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
Introductory Chemistry is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course. Throughout the chapters, David presents two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook, that chemistry is everywhere.
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory by Arianna Cheveldave
Publication Date: 2020

License: CC BY 4.0
The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open.

Biological Chemistry

Biochemistry: Free for All by Kevin Ahern and Indira Rajagopal
Publication Date: 2018

License: CC BY-NC 4.0
An open textbook from Oregon State University that has since been adopted by courses worldwide. It is intended for a single-semester, general course.
Biological Chemistry
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 (unless noted otherwise)
LibreTexts has created a library of Biological Chemistry resources, including texts, homework and worksheets, exemplars and case studies, as well as a bank of visualizations and simulations.

Inorganic Chemistry

Inorganic Chemistry
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 (unless noted otherwise)
LibreTexts has created a library of Inorganic Chemistry resources, including texts, homework and worksheets, exemplars and case studies, as well as a bank of visualizations and simulations.

Organic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis Volume I by Tim Soderberg
Publication Date: 2016

License: CC BY-NC-SA
A two-volume set of textbooks from Tim Soderberg at the University of Minnesota, intended to cover the core concepts of organic structure, structure determination, and reactivity.
Organic Chemistry I by Xin Liu
Publication Date: 2021

License: CC BY-NC-SA
An open textbook that is suitable for the first semester of Organic Chemistry. Basic concepts of the structures and reactivities of organic molecules are covered in this open textbook.

How to be a Successful Organic Chemist by Alexander H. Sandtorv
Publication Date: 2017

License: CC BY-NC 4.0
An open guide that is designed to instruct undergraduate students on practical lab skills, including safety, chemical handling, organic chemistry techniques, and lab reports.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards by CDC
Publication Date: 2007

Public Domain
A publication created by the Department of Health and Human Services of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It contains within it a list of common chemical hazards, as well as information about the chemicals' properties and physical description, protection measures, and first aid steps after contact.
Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques by Lisa Nichols
Publication Date: 2016

License: CC BY-NC-ND
A resource designed to introduce undergraduate students to organic chemistry lab techniques, as well as general concepts such as setting up lab equipment. All procedures include step-by-step illustrated guides.

ChemCollective
The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. The content is free to use for educational purposes
Khan Academy
License: CC BY-NC-SA for videos and exercises
Khan Academy provides free access to practice exercises, instructional videos, and other educational content.
PhET Interactive Simulations
License: CC BY 4.0
These online, open simulations were created by the University of Colorado-Boulder to provide new fun, free, and interactive tools for students to use. All simulations have been tested and evaluated in real-world classrooms. They are licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0 license.
VR Molecules Pro
VR Molecules Pro is an interactive simulation illustrating molecule vibration and rotation modes for twenty-four different molecules. It allows users to create up to ten 'pages' of molecules, which can be combined with sound and text explanations to create a multi-media document. It is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC 2.5 Canada License.
Wolfram Demonstrations Project
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0
A collection of interactive visualizations of concepts in science, technology, mathematics, art, finance and more.
Ancillary Materials from LibreTexts Chemistry
Includes labs, demonstrations interactive applications and worksheets.

Disclaimer

The content provided in this guide is intended for informational purposes only. The Melvin J. Zahnow Library at SVSU does not make any assurances as to the accuracy of the information contained within linked resources, or as to the licenses and permissions granted for the use of these works. Always be certain to check the permissions for each resource before using the work.

Questions? Contact Tiler Jewell at tbjewell@svsu.edu.