LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): PreK-12

PreK-12 Classroom Resources

Repositories
Lessons and Curricula

Multi-Media Repositories

These collections provide access to a variety of openly licensed materials including textbooks, videos, lessons, homework and more.

cK-12
Curriculum Materials License: For educational use only
cK-12 is a free resource database containing a library of standards-alighned online textbooks, videos, exercises, flashcards, and applications.
Curriki
License: Varies
Curriki is an online database of educator-vetted open educational resources for use in PreK-12 classrooms, created and shared by teachers, educators, and professionals worldwide.
EDU Images
License: CC BY-NC
Photographs of preK-12 students and teachers in the United States.
Michigan Open Book Project
License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Founded and funded as part of the Technology Readiness Infrastructure Grant (TRIG), this online library contains a collection of open textbooks for use in classrooms around Michigan.
Wikijunior
License: CC BY-SA 3.0
A project produced in conjunction with WikiBooks, WikiJunior is a site containing age-appropriate, community-produced non-fiction books for children birth to age 12.

Video Repositories

Hippocampus
License: Varies
Hippocampus is a library containing more than 7,000 free videos, animations, and simulations in 13 subject areas.
MIT Blossoms
License: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US
MIT Blossoms is an online library of math and science video lessons for use in high-school classes.
TED Ed
License: CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
TED Ed is a site created by the founders of the TED Talk series, in which faculty can create customized lessons for their students based on TED talks and any other YouTube videos.

Read-Aloud Texts

(Note: Many of these resources are freely available for access and viewing, but are not truly open-licensed. Always check to make sure you are allowed to use a work in the way you intend to.

Indianapolis Public Library
A curated list of 100+ read-aloud videos.
Oxford OWL
Videos with professional storytellers
Storyline Online
Videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books.

Lesson Plans and Curricula Collections

BetterLesson
License: CC BY or CC BY-NC
BeterLesson is a teaching project devoted to building an online body of knowledge around authentic instructional practice. It includes a collection of lesson plans designed to meet discipline standards.
CommonLit: Library
License: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 for reading material
An online collection of reading passages in all literary and nonfiction genres for students in grades 3-12.
Edsitement
License: CC BY for lesson plans
An online library from the National Endowment for the Humanities that includes lesson plans and study activities for students.
Mathematics Vision Project
License: CC BY
The Mathematics Vision Project (MVP) provides curriculum for students in mathematics classrooms ranging from Secondary Math 1 through Algebra 2.
NASA for Educators
Lesson plans and educational resources from National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
Works created by government employees in the United States as part of their employment are considered to be in the public domain. However, you should always verify the copyright status of any items you wish to use.
Share My Lesson
License: CC BY-NC-SA or CC BY-NC-ND
An online repository of PreK-12 lesson plans, created by teachers for teachers.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
License: Varies
Smithsonian Learning Lab is an online collection of millions of digital images, recordings, texts, and videos from the Smithsonian Museums, which educators can discover, adapt, and share.