LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Foreign Languages

Open Resources

These textbooks have been created for free use in courses. These resources may be adopted for use as classroom text, modified to create new texts (if licensing allows), or used as a supplemental learning tool to aid in understanding key concepts.

General Foreign Language

Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is funded by the U.S. Department of Education to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
MERLOT World Languages Portal

Spanish Textbooks

Spanish I: Beginning Spanish Language and Culture by Matthew Dean
ISBN: 9781947112421
Publication Date: 2020
License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
This peer-reviewed textbook is designed for the true beginner with U.S. college students in mind. It contains themed chapters, which are divided into 8 sections. Each section has its own set of learning objectives, and is further separated into three types of assignments,
Libro Libre: Beginning Spanish by Erin Huebener & Jessica Steinberg
Publication Date: 2018
License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Antologia Abierta de Literatura Hispana by Julie Anne Ward (ed.)
License: CC BY 4.0
This open text is a critical anthology of literary texts written in Spanish. Each text has an introduction and annotations written by students.
Leyendas y arquetipos del Romanticismo español, Segunda edición by Robert Sanders
License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Leyendas y arquetipos del Romanticismo español is an introduction to nineteenth-century Spanish literature with a thematic focus on legends and archetypes. It presents Romanticism in the context of nineteenth-century literary and social movements. It is designed as a first anthology for intermediate Spanish students at American universities. Although brief, it includes poetry, drama in verse and short story. The works have been selected for their literary interest and the social importance of their themes. They are all by canonical authors.

French Textbooks

Francais Interactif by Carl Blyth; Karen Kelton; Nancy Guilloteau
License: CC BY 3.0
An open multimedia textbook from the University of Texas at Austin, that is meant for a first-year French course.
Histoires D'Avenirs by Annabelle Dolidon; Stephanie Roulon
License: CC BY-NC 4.0
An open text for students in intermediate or advanced French courses. It is based on nine French science fiction stories.
Liberté by Gretchen Angelo
License: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
An open, first-year French textbook that takes a "true communicative approach."

German Textbooks

Deutsch im Blick
License: CC BY 4.0
An open, web-based first-year German program developed and in use at the University of Texas.
Foundation Course in Reading German by Alan Ng
License: CC BY-NC-SA
An open text written for learners with no previous German experience, to aid them in understanding formal written German prose.

Japanese Textbooks

Beginning Japanese for Professionals by Emiko Konomi
ISBN: 9781329996779
License: CC BY-NC
An open Japanese textbook designed for beginning learners to learn basic Japanese. It is intended for individuals who wish to live or work in Japan, focusing on social and professional life.
Preadvanced Japanese by Emiko Konomi
License: CC BY-NC
An open textbook designed for students who have an intermediate competency in Japanese.

Portuguese Textbooks

Conversa Brasileira by Orlando Kelm
ISBN: 9781937963057
Publication Date: 2013-07-27
License: CC BY
An open textbook from the University of Texas at Austin, for intermediate and advanced learners of Brazilian Portuguese.
Português para principiantes by Severino J. Albuquerque
Publication Date: 2016
License: CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Português para principiantes is a time-tested text which can be used in conjunction with a variety of approaches to the teaching of beginning Portuguese.

Project Gutenberg is a collection of more than 57,000 free eBooks, most of which are classical works that are in the public domain in the United States. It contains a large collection of foreign language texts. Below are links to some of the language collections.

Live Lingua
Live Lingua is a website that contains a collection of public domain language learning materials for more than 130 languages. Many of the materials originate from Peace Corps language courses. All are in the public domain.
OpenLearn
Open Learn is an initiative of The Open University, UK and offers more than 1000 free online classes. It also provides supplemental materials for educators, including articles, podcasts, videos, games, and much more.

Disclaimer

The content provided in this guide is intended for informational purposes only. The Melvin J. Zahnow Library at SVSU does not make any assurances as to the accuracy of the information contained within linked resources, or as to the licenses and permissions granted for the use of these works. Always be certain to check the permissions for each resource before using the work.

Questions? Contact Tiler Jewell at tbjewell@svsu.edu.